
LATE COMPLIANCE INSTRUCTIONS 
 
To cure your deficiencies and avoid being sanctioned by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education 
(“Commission”), you must comply with the following directions: 
 
CLE DEFICIENCIES  
 
1. Between January 1 and March 31, 2017, you must attend sufficient approved CLE activities to make up all 

deficiencies from the immediate prior biennium (2015/2016).  Activities taken or completed after March 31, 
2017, cannot be used to cure deficiencies from the prior biennium. 

 
2. You must submit a Continuing Legal Education Late Compliance Reporting Form (Form 19, enclosed) 

identifying specifically the deficiencies that are now cleared and indicate by Activity Code, date, and title the 
approved CLE courses you attended.  Certificates of Completion must be attached for all online courses you 
completed during the late compliance period.  

 
3. You must include with your Form 19, the late compliance fee (check or money order only), made payable to 

the Supreme Court of Ohio, CCLE, in the amount indicated on the first page of the notice of apparent 
noncompliance.   Below is a summary of the late compliance fees.   

 
DEFICIENCY:  LATE COMPLIANCE FEE: 
 
Six hours or less  

 
$75  

 
More than six hours but not more than twelve hours  

 
$150  

 
More than twelve hours but not more than eighteen hours  

 
$225  

 
More than eighteen hours    
 

 
$300 

NEW LAWYERS TRAINING DEFICIENCIES  
 
1. Between January 1 and March 31, 2017, you must attend sufficient New Lawyers Training courses to make 

up the deficiency from the immediate prior compliance period.  Remember:  These courses must be pre-
approved by the Commission on Continuing Legal Education as New Lawyers Training courses.  If in doubt, 
please contact us.  

 
2. You must submit a Continuing Legal Education Late Compliance Reporting Form (Form 19, enclosed) 

identifying specifically the deficiencies that are now cleared and indicate by Activity Code, date, and title the 
New Lawyers Training courses you attended. 

 
3.    The Form 19 must be accompanied by the late compliance fee, check or money order only, made payable to 

the Supreme Court of Ohio, CCLE in the amount indicated on the first page of the notice of apparent 
noncompliance.  Below is a summary of the New Lawyers Training late compliance fee: 

 
Late fee for completing New Lawyers Training requirement after 12/31/16 is $300.00. 
 

IMPORTANT  -- PLEASE NOTE 
 
• CLE Activities you take to cure your hour deficiency must be taken and completed on or before March 31, 

2017. 
 
• Requests for late compliance must be postmarked on or before May 1, 2017, or the submission will not         

be accepted.  Failure to submit the request for late compliance by the May 1, 2017, deadline, will result in the 
Commission issuing a sanction against you and/or suspending you from the practice of law.    

 
• For attorneys with a CLE hour deficiency, you can take up to twelve hours of CLE designated as self-study 

credit for the 2015/2016 compliance period.  This includes online CLE courses, live webcasts, and 
teleconferences.  The total number of self-study courses you can take during the 2015/2016 compliance 
period and the late compliance period (January 1, 2015 through March 31, 2017) cannot exceed twelve hours. 

 
• For attorneys and judges with a Judicial College deficiency, please note that there are a limited number of 

activities offered by the Ohio Judicial College.  When attending Judicial College courses make sure that the 
activity has been approved for Judicial College credit. Activities offered by the Judicial College that have not 
been approved for Judicial College credit do not apply towards any Judicial College credit hour deficiencies. 

   
• Attorneys who fail to complete the New Lawyers Training requirement by the March 31, 2017, late 

compliance deadline, will be suspended from the practice of law.  See Rule X, Sec. 17(B). 
 
• If you provide evidence of timely compliance or you successfully complete late compliance, you will  receive        

written confirmation from us.  We will also notify you if we are unable to process your request for late 
compliance. 

 
• Your CLE record can be checked online at https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/attorneyportal.  If you have 

any further questions, please contact us at 614/387-9320. 

https://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/attorneyportal

