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INTRODUCTION

PROBATE BENCH CARDS

Ohio’s probate bench cards were developed to support judicial officers in their duty to provide 
comprehensive and timely judicial action in probate cases.

The Honorable Kathleen L. Giesler, president of the Ohio Association of Probate Judges, initiated this 
project on behalf of the judges in Ohio, and in particular those judges with both probate and juvenile 
jurisdictions. The probate bench cards were a collaborative between the Ohio Association of Probate 
Judges and the Supreme Court of Ohio.  

The court wishes to extend special recognition and tremendous gratitude to: David M. Farmer, chief 
magistrate, Montgomery County Probate Court; Bill Fisher, chief deputy clerk (retired), Licking County 
Probate Court; Honorable Kathleen L. Giesler, Ottawa County Probate and Juvenile Court; John R. 
Homolak, court administrator/magistrate, Cuyahoga County Probate Court; Samuel A. Peppers III, 
partner, Dinsmore & Shohl LLP; Paul D. Rattermann, chief magistrate/administrator, Hamilton County 
Probate Court; Tricia Rosengarten, chief deputy clerk, Shelby County Probate Court; and Roseanne Hilow, 
magistrate, Cuyahoga County Probate Court; Patricia Hider, magistrate, Butler County Probate Court; and 
Hon. Jan Long, Pickaway County Juvenile & Probate Court.

Any comments or questions about the probate bench cards should be directed to:

The Supreme Court of Ohio
Families & the Courts Section
65 South Front Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431
614.387.9385
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PROBATE OF WILL

FILINGS

1.	 Original Will
2.	 SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of 

Kin, Legatees and Devisees 
3.	 SPF 2.0: Application to Probate Will 
4.	 SPF 2.1: Waiver of Notice of Probate of Will 
5.	 SPF 2.2: Notice of Probate of Will
6.	 SPF 2.3: Entry Admitting Will to Probate 
7.	 SPF 2.4: Certificate of Service of Notice of 

Probate of Will 

VENUE [R.C. 2107.11]

1.	 Testator domiciled in Ohio at time of death
2.	 Testator not domiciled in Ohio at the time 

of death, but filed in Ohio county where real 
or personal property of testator is located, 
provided the will has not been admitted to 
probate in Ohio or another state.

ADMISSION

1.	 If it appears from the face of the will or 
there is testimony that will was executed in 
compliance with Ohio law. [R.C. 2107.18]

2.	 Will declared valid during testator’s lifetime. 
[R.C. 2107.084]

3.	 Will admitted by prior judgment. [R.C. 2107.18]

4.	 Interlocutory Order denying admission 
	 [R.C. 2107.181]

NOTICE/SERVICE [R.C. 2107.19]

1.	 Notice of admission of will to be given 
within 2 weeks of admission of will by: 
[R.C. 2107.19(A)(4)]

a.	 Applicant for admission of will
b.	 Fiduciary for estate
c.	 Applicant for release from 

administration
d.	 An interested person
e.	 Attorney for any of the above

2.	 Notice of admission of will to be served 
upon all next of kin, legatees and devisees. 
Civ.R. 73(E)] (SPF 2.2)

3.	 Notice may be waived. [R.C. 2107.19(A)(2)] (SPF 2.0 
and 2.1)

4.	 Notice not required as to persons whose 
names or places of residence are unknown 
and cannot with reasonable diligence be 
ascertained. [R.C. 2107.19(B)]

5.	 Certificate of giving notice filed 2 months 
after appointment of fiduciary or if no 
fiduciary has been appointed 2 months after 
admission of will to probate unless the court 
grants an extension of time. [R.C. 2107.19(A)(4)] 
[Sup.R. 59]

LOST, SPOLIATED, OR DESTROYED WILL   

1.	 Standard of Proof:  Clear and convincing 
evidence [R.C. 2107.26(A)]

2.	 Findings: 
a.	 The will was executed as required by the 

jurisdiction in which it was executed. 
[R.C. 2107.26(A)(1)]

b.	 The contents of the will. [R.C. 2107.26(A)(2)]

c.	 No person opposing admission 
establishes by a preponderance of the 
evidence that will was revoked. 
[R.C. 2107.26(B)]  

3.	 Notice (by certified mail) upon:
a.	 Surviving spouse
b.	 All next of kin
c.	 All legatees and devisees
d.	 All legatees and devisees in most recent 

will prior to lost, spoliated, or destroyed 
will.

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.	 Treatment of Will Not Properly Executed  
[R.C. 2107.24]

2.	 Oral Wills [R.C. 2107.60]

3.	 Probate of Later Wills [R.C. 2107.22]

4.	 Recording of Wills [(R.C. 2107.21]

5.	 Search Wills on Deposit [Sup.R. 59] 
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APPOINTMENT OF FIDUCIARY 

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of 
Kin, Legatees and Devisees 

2.	 SPF 4.0: Application For Authority 
3.	 SPF 4.1: Supplemental Application for 

Ancillary Administration
4.	 SPF 4.2: Fiduciary Bond 
5.	 SPF 4.3: Waiver of Right to Administer 
6.	 SPF 4.4: Notice and Citation of Hearing 
7.	 SPF 4.5: Entry Appointing Fiduciary 
8.	 SPF 4.8: Fiduciary Acceptance [R.C. 2109.02]

TYPES OF FIDUCIARIES

1. 	 Intestate:
a.	 Administrator [R.C. 2113.06]

b.	 Special Administrator [R.C. 2113.15 - 17]

c.	 Administrator De Bonis Non [R.C. 2109.26]

d.	 Ancillary Administrator. [Chapter 2129]

2.	 Testate: 
a.	 Executor [R.C. 2113.05]

b.	 Ancillary Executor [Chapter 2129]

c.	 Administrator With Will Annexed. 
	 [R.C. 2113.12] 

VENUE

1.	 County of residence if death intestate 
[R.C. 2113.01]

2.	 County of domicile if testate [R.C. 2107.11]

NOTICE [R.C. 2113.07]

1.	 Notice and citation of hearing to be served 
upon all persons who have priority to 
administer the estate. [Civ.R. 73], Form 4.4

2.	 Minors who would have been entitled to 
administer estate, but for their minority 
must be served with notice unless notice is 
waived.  [Civ.R. 4.2]

3.	 If a minor was nominated as executor 
another fiduciary may administer the estate 
until the minor reaches the age of majority 
at which time the former minor may be 
appointed. [R.C. 2113.13]

PRIORITY OF APPOINTMENT

1.	 Intestate [R.C. 2113.06]

a.	 Surviving spouse who resides in Ohio.
b.	 Next of kin who resides in Ohio.
c.	 Other suitable person who resides in 

Ohio.
d.	 Priority may be waived.  
e.	 See SPF 4.3 - Priority may be lost by 

neglect in filing. [R.C. 2113.06]

2.	 Testate [R.C. 2113.05]

a.	 Person nominated in will. 
b.	 If no nominated executor is able or 

willing to serve to a legatee or devisee 
named in the will who would have 
been entitled to administer estate if the 
decedent had died intestate.

c.	 If none of above, to some other suitable 
person.  

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENT

1.	 Intestate – resident of Ohio. [R.C. 2109.21(A)]

2.	 Testate – resident of Ohio, or non resident 
if related to decedent by affinity or 
consanguinity, or a person who resides in a 
state that authorizes the appointment of a 
nonresident. [R.C. 2109.21(B)(1)]

FIDUICARY BOND

1.	 Required under R.C. 2109.04 unless: 
a.	 Surviving spouse who is entitled to entire 

net proceeds. [R.C. 2109.07]

b.	 Administrator is sole next of kin and 
entitled to net estate. [R.C. 2109.07]
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c.	 Bond waived by will. [R.C. 2109.04]

d.	 Bond not waived in will, but executor 
is the next-of-kin entitled to entire net 
proceeds.  [R.C. 2109.09]

e.	 Fiduciary is sole residuary legatee or 
distributee. [R.C. 2109.04]

f.	 Bond may be set by court if R.C. 2109.07 and 
2109.09 do not apply.

2.	 Amount of bond shall be no less than 
double the probable value of personal 
property and annual real estate rental 
income [R.C. 2109.04]

3.	 Deposit in lieu of bond. [R.C. 2109.13]

ENTRY (SPF 4.5)

The applicant must be found to: 
1.	 Meet residence, priority, and bonding 

requirements. 
2.	 Be suitable, competent, and accepts 

appointment. [R.C. 2113.05 and R.C. 2113.06]

3.	 An administrator shall give written notice of 
appointment to all next-of-kin who were not 
served with notice of appointment or waived 
notice. [Sup.R. 60(B)]

SPECIAL ADMINISTRATOR [R.C.2113.15]

1.	 Ex parte appointment if there is a delay in 
granting letters of authority. 

2.	 Special administrator to collect and preserve 
assets of the decedent’s estate until executor 
or administrator appointed. 

3.	 Creditor claims may be presented to the 
special administrator. [R.C. 2113.17]

4.	 Bond requirements for special administrator 
[R.C. 2109.08]

5.	 Special administrator must account for 
assets coming into his or her hands [R.C. 2113.16]
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RIGHTS OF SURVIVING SPOUSE

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 7.1: Application for Family Allowance 
2.	 SPF 7.2: Application for Apportionment of 

Family Allowance
3.	 SPF 8.0: Citation to Surviving Spouse to 

Exercise Elective Rights 
4.	 SPF 8.1: Election of Surviving Spouse to 

Take Under Will 
5.	 SPF 8.2: Election of Surviving Spouse to 

Take Against Will 
6.	 SPF 8.3: Summary of General Rights of 

Surviving Spouse 
7.	 SPF 8.4: Certificate of Service and Notice 

of Citation to Surviving Spouse to Exercise 
Elective Rights

8.	 SPF 8.5: Return for Certificate of Service 
of Citation to Surviving Spouse to Exercise 
Elective Rights

9.	 SPF 8.6: Waiver of Service to Surviving 
	 Spouse of the Citation to Elect

SERVICE

1.	 Citation to surviving spouse served after the 
appointment of fiduciary, both testate and 
intestate, by the court. [R.C. 2106.01(A)]; [Civ.R. 73]

2.	 Service of Citation may be waived. 
[R.C. 2106.01(A)]

TIME FRAMES [R.C. 2106.01(E)]

1.	 The surviving spouse must exercise all rights 
within five months of the appointment 
of fiduciary, unless otherwise provided by 
statute. [R.C. 2106.25]

2.	 The time period may be extended upon 
motion and good cause shown.

ELECTIONS

1.	 To take under the will (or taking no action). 
(SPF 8.1)

2.	 To take against the will. (SPF 8.2) [R.C. 2106.06]

PROCEDURE (to take under R.C. 2105.06) [R.C. 2106.06]

1.	 Hearing scheduled, upon request.
2.	 Election must be made in person before a 

judge or magistrate.
3.	 Judicial officer shall explain the will, the 

rights under the will, and the rights of the 
spouse in the event of refusal to take under 
the will.

RIGHTS [under R.C. 2106.06]

1.	 To receive one-half of the net estate or 
one-third of net estate, if two or more of 
the decedent’s children or their lineal 
descendants survive. [R.C. 2106.01(C)]

2.	 To receive the mansion house or remain 
rent free for one year. If the property is sold 
before the year runs, then the spouse shall 
be paid fair rental value. [R.C. 2106.10 and 2106.15]

a.	 Election must be made at or before the 
filing of the final account. [R.C. 2106.10(B)]

b.	 The mansion house includes decedent’s 
title to the land and may include 
household goods and certain farmland. 
[R.C. 2106.10(F)]

3.	 To receive an allowance for support of up to 
$40,000. [R.C. 2106.13(A)]

a.	 Allowance may be apportioned between 
surviving spouse and minor children 
not born of the decedent or between 
decedents’ minor children if no surviving 
spouse. [R.C. 2106.13(A)] SPF 7.2 is filed within 
5 months of appointment. [R.C. 2106.13(D)]

Definition of net estate or acceleration of remainder interest 
under R.C. 2106.01(D). Further, if spouse is under a legal 

disability, [R.C. 2131.02] the court must make an 
election after appointing some suitable person to ascertain 

the value of the provision made for the surviving spouse 
by the testator as against the value of the rights of the 

surviving spouse in the estate of the testator. 
[R.C. 2106.08]
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b.	 If surviving spouse selects more than 
one automobile pursuant to R.C. 2106.18, the 
allowance is reduced by the value of the 
automobile having the lower value. 

	 [R.C. 2106.13 and R.C. 2106.18]

4.	 To purchase property at appraised values 
[R.C. 2106.16]

a.	 May purchase the decedent’s interest 
in the mansion house and land where 
house is located, adjacent farmland, and 
household goods. [R.C. 2106.16(A)]

i.	 A complaint (“petition”) must be 
filed to purchase real property, and a 
motion (“application”) must be filed 
to purchase personal property. 
[R.C. 2106.16(B)]

b.	 May purchase the decedent’s interest 
in other probate property that does not 
exceed one-third of the gross value of 
the appraised estate. [R.C. 2106.16(B)]

5.	 To receive automobiles, unless specifically 
bequeathed otherwise in the will [R.C. 2106.18]

a.	 That shall not exceed $65,000
b.	 “Automobile” includes a motorcycle and 

a truck, if the truck is used as a method 
of conveyance by the deceased spouse or 
family.

6.	 To receive one watercraft and one outboard 
motor. [R.C. 2106.19]

7.	 To be reimbursed from estate for payment 
of decedent’s funeral and burial expenses, 
subject to creditor’s rights. [R.C. 2106.20]

8.	 To set aside Antenuptial or Separation 
Agreement [R.C. 2106.22]

a.	 Action to set aside or to declare validity 
of the agreement must be filed within 4 
months of the fiduciary’s appointment.
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INVENTORY AND APPRAISAL

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of 
Kin, Legatees and Devisees 

2.	 SPF 3.0: Appointment of Appraiser and 
Entry 

3.	 SPF 6.0: Inventory and Appraisal 
4.	 SPF 6.1: Schedule of Assets 
5.	 SPF 6.2: Waiver of Notice of Hearing on 

Inventory
6.	 SPF 6.3: Notice of Hearing on Inventory

TIME FRAME

Three months from appointment of fiduciary. 
[R.C. 2115.02]

PROBATE ASSETS

1.	 Real property in Ohio requires the full legal 
description for real property and is valued 
on the date of death. [R.C. 2115.02]

2.	 Tangible and intangible personal property 
that is to be administered that comes into 
the possession or knowledge of the fiduciary. 
[R.C. 2115.02 and 2115.09]

 
APPRAISER

1.	 Suitable disinterested appraiser may be 
appointed to assist the fiduciary to value 
property that does not have a readily 
ascertainable value. [R.C. 2115.02] (SPF 3.0) 
[Sup. R. 61(B)]

a.	 Exception: County Auditor’s value may 
be used for real property. [R.C. 2115.06]

2.	 Appraiser may be compensated in an 
amount that is approved by the fiduciary 
and the Court. [R.C. 2115.06]; [Sup.R. 61(A)]

NOTICE

1.	 Taking of Inventory: 
a.	 Not less than 5 days prior notice of the 

taking of the Inventory must be served 
on the surviving spouse. [R.C. 2115.04] 

b.	 Proof of service of notice to be filed with 
Inventory.

c.	 Notice may be waived. (SPF 6.0)

HEARING

1.	 Inventory shall be set for hearing for 
approval. [R.C. 2115.16] 

2.	 Notice of hearing may be served on any 
person interested in the estate. (SPF 6.3) 
The probate court may order notice of 
hearing on its own or on the motion of an 
interested party. Notice may be waived. (SPF 
6.2) 

3.	 Exceptions:
a.	 To the approval of the Inventory may 

be filed within five days of the hearing. 
Exceptions must be served upon the 
fiduciary and counsel.

b.	 Will be set for hearing and may be set for 
a pre-trial hearing under Sup.R. 78(E).

ENTRY

The probate court shall enter its order to approve 
the Inventory. [R.C. 2115.16] 

FIDUCIARY BOND

Court may determine if the fiduciary bond is 
sufficient upon the filing of an Inventory and may 
require additional bond. [R.C. 2109.06]

The appraisement of real property on an approved Inventory 
is conclusive for all purposes. The probate court may order real 

property reappraised. [R.C. 2115.17]
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FAILURE TO FILE OR APPEAR [R.C. 2115.03 and 
2109.24]

Citation:
1.	 File or appear
2.	 If fails to file:

a.	 Removal
b.	 Denial of fiduciary and attorney fees
c.	 Extension to file
d.	 $100 assessment and $25.00 court costs
e.	 Contempt of court

NEWLY DISCOVERED ASSETS

A report of assets discovered after the Inventory 
may be filed. [R.C. 2113.69]
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ANCILLARY ADMINISTRATION
FILINGS

1.	 SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of 
Kin, Legatees and Devisees

2.	 SPF 4.0: Application for Authority
3.	 SPF 4.1: Supplemental Application for 

Ancillary Administration
4.	 SPF 4.2: Fiduciary Bond
5.	 SPF 4.3: Waiver of Right to Administer
6.	 SPF 4.4: Notice of Citation of Hearing
7.	 SPF 4.5: Entry Appointing Fiduciary; Letters 

of Authority
8.	 Acceptance [R.C. 2109.02]

VENUE [R. C. 2129.04]

1.	 Ohio county where nonresident decedent 
leaves property, or 

2.	 Where a debtor of the decedent lives.  

APPOINTMENT

1.	 Ancillary executor if named in will [R.C. 2129.08]

2.	 Ancillary administrator if resident of county 
[R.C. 2129.08]

3.	 Residency requirements may apply under 
R.C. 2109.21.

4.	 Fiduciary bond requirements may apply 
under R.C. 2109.04. 

5.	 Upon appointment of ancillary 
administration, the procedure is the same 
as the administration of estate of resident 
decedent, unless noted differently by statute. 
[R.C. 2129.10]

FOREIGN RECORDS

1.	 Authenticated copies of a will and 
administration admitted of any other county, 
state or territory, may be admitted in the 
probate court where property is situated.

2.	 Probate of foreign will [R.C. 2129.07] 

a.	 extracounty or extrastate administration 
[R.C. 2129.01]

b.	 any state or territory of the United States 
[R.C. 2129.05] 

c.	 country other than the United States or 
territories of the United States may set 
forth in R.C. 2129.07 to R.C. 2129.30. [R.C. 2129.06] 

DUTIES OF ANCILLARY FIDUCIARY

1.	 Address claims [R.C. 2129.02]

2.	 Sell real and personal property [R.C. 2129.13]

3.	 Provide to domiciliary administrator, within 
five months of appointment, a certificate 
showing assets and liabilities
a.	 If administrator is unknown, then to the 

next of kin and court having jurisdiction 
of non-resident estate [R.C. 2129.15]

4.	 Distribute upon court approval personal 
property and proceeds of real estate sold by 
court order:
a.	 domiciliary administrator; or
b.	 persons entitled to receive [R.C. 2129.23]

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.	 Request for sale by foreign executor 
[R.C. 2129.25]

2.	 Sale by domicile fiduciary [R.C. 2129.14]

3.	 Trusts created by foreign wills [R.C. 2129.27]

4.	 Appointment by trustee under foreign will 
[R.C. 2129.30]

5.	 Transcript to be filed [R.C. 2129.17]

6.	 Determination of heirship [R.C. 2129.18]

ANCILLARY ADMINISTRATION
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CLAIMS AGAINST ESTATE

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 7.0: Notice to Administrator of Medicaid 
Estate Recovery Program

2.	 SPF 7.0(A): Certificate of Notice to 
Administrator of Medicaid Estate Recovery 
Program

3.	 SPF 24.0: Representation of Involvency
4.	 SPF 24.1: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing 

and Ordering Notice
5.	 SPF 24.2: Notice of Hearing on 

Representation of Insolvency and Schedule 
of Claims

6.	 SPF 24.3: Verification of Service Notice of 
Hearing upon Representation of Insolvency 
and Schedule of Claims

7.	 SPF 24.4: Insolvency Schedule of Claims
8.	 SPF 24.6: Judgment Entry of Insolvency

PRESENTMENT [R.C. 2117.06]

1.	 To the fiduciary after appointment and 
before filing of the final account 
[R.C. 2117.06 (A) (1)]. A copy may be filed with the 
probate court. [2117.06(A)(1)(b)]

2.	 Most claims are subject to presentment 
within six months of decedent’s death 
[R.C. 2117.06 (B)]

3.	 Medicaid Estate Recovery claims are due to 
be presented within ninety days of service of 
SPF 7.0 or one year after decedent’s death, 
whichever is later. SPF 7.0(A) is to be filed 
with the court to verify service of notice on 
the administrator of the Medicaid Estate 
Recovery Program [R.C. 2117.061]

4.	 The probate court may not close the 
administration of an estate until claims filed 
with the court are resolved. [R.C. 2117.06 (I)]

  ALLOWANCE/REJECTION [R.C.2117.06 (D) and 2117.11]
1.	 Fiduciary may require authentication of 

claim. [R.C. 2117.08]

2.	 Fiduciary may reject a claim in whole or in 
part with notice to creditor pursuant to 
Civ.R. 73. Notice by mail effective upon delivery 
of mail.

a.	 If a claim has been filed with the court 
the fiduciary shall file a copy of a 
rejection of the claim with the court. 
[Sup.R 62 (A)]

3.	 An heir may file to request that the fiduciary 
be required to reject a creditor’s claim. A 
bond may be required. Upon posting of the 
required bond, the fiduciary shall reject the 
claim. [R.C. 2117.13]

4.	 The creditor has two months from the 
rejection of a claim to file suit or the claim is 
barred. [R.C. 2117.12]

COMPROMISE [R.C. 2117.05]

Court may approve the compromise and settlement 
of a claim after hearing and notice to persons who 
would be adversely affected.

FIDUCIARY [R.C. 2117.01 and 2117.02]

1.	 Fiduciary must file claim with the court 
within three months of appointment.

2.	 Hearing required for claim of $500.00 or 
more. Fiduciary is to serve notice of hearing, 
20 days prior to hearing, on all heirs and 
creditors ordered by the court. 

3.	 An appeal may be filed of any final order or 
judgment. [R.C. 2117.04] 

INSOLVENT ESTATE [R.C. 2117.15, 2117.17, and 2117.25]

1.	 Fiduciary may file representation of 
insolvency if it appears the estate is 
insolvent. [R.C. 2117.15] (SPF 24.0)

2.	 The court after notice and hearing that the 
estate is insolvent and approve the actions 
of the fiduciary to accept and reject and to 
assign a priority of the payment. [R.C. 2117.17] See 
SPF 24.0, SPF 24.1, SPF 24.2, SPF 24.3, SPF 
24.4, SPF 24.5 and SPF 24.6. 

3.	 Priority for payment of claims is set forth in 
[R.C. 2117.25].

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.	 Contingent Claims [R.C. 2117.37]

2.	 Claims Against Co-Debtors [R.C. 2117.42]
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INSOLVENT ESTATES [R.C. 2117.15, .17 & .25]

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 24.0: Representation of Insolvency
2.	 SPF 24.1: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing and 

Ordering Notice
3.	 SPF 24.2: Notice of Hearing on Representation 

of Insolvency and Schedule of Claims (attached 
to SPF 24.3 Verification of Service) 

4.	 SPF 24.3: Verification of Service of Notice of 
Hearing on Representation of Insolvency and 
Schedule of Claims 

5.	  SPF 24.4: Insolvency Schedule of Claims
6.	 SPF 24.6: Judgment Entry of Insolvency 

JURISDICTION & VENUE

An executor or administrator may report to the 
court that the estate is insolvent and apply for any 
order that the executor or administrator considers 
necessary because of the insolvency. [R.C. 2117.15] The 
insolvency matter is heard in the decedent’s estate.  

TIME FRAME

A Representation of Insolvency can be filed 
during the administration of the estate only after 
the Inventory and Schedule of Assets has been 
approved by the court (SPF 6.0). Additionally, the 
time for filing claims against the estate also must 
have passed. [R.C. 2117.06 & .061]

NOTICE/SERVICE

1.	 Notice of the hearing should be served upon 
the surviving spouse, all persons having an 
interest in the estate as devisees, legatees, heirs, 
and distributes, all creditors and claimants 
whose claims have been rejected.  [R.C. 2117.17(A)(1) - (2)] 
Notice must be perfected at least 10 days before 
the hearing is held. [R.C. 2117.17(A)]

2.	 SPF Form 24.2 Notice of Hearing on 
Representation of Insolvency and Schedule  of 
Claims should be used to send notice.  The 
notices should be attached to the Verification 
of Service (SPF 24.3) with proof of service (e.g., 
certified mail return receipt cards).

3.	 Notice may be waived. [R.C. 2117.17(A)] 

     

4.	 Notice must be served personally or by certified 
mail. [R.C. 2117.17(B)]

HEARING

1.  The Court must determine whether the 
executor or administrator acted properly in 
allowing and classifying each claim and make an 
order confirming or denying those actions. 

	 [R.C. 2117.17 (C)]; [SPF 24.6]

	

2.	 The court must consider and rule upon any 
exceptions filed prior to the hearing by any 
interested person as to the allowance or 
classification of any specific claim. [R.C. 2117.17(B)]; 

	 [SPF 24.6]

3.	 The court must determine whether the claims 
against the estate exceed the amount of assets 
of the estate in order to determine whether the 
estate is insolvent. If the estate is determined to 
be insolvent, the court must order the fiduciary 
to pay the claims with available assets in the 
order of classes of claims dictated by R.C. 2117.25.
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There is no SPF for waiving notice 
of an insolvency hearing.

NOTE

The classification of claims is determined by 
R.C. 2117.25. The classification of a particular 

claim will determine the priority in which it is 
to be paid under that statute.

NOTE
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4.	 The court must determine claims below a 
designated class will not be paid, as there are no 
funds available to pay the claims.

5.	 The court must order either the executor 
or administrator to file a final account or a 
certificate of termination (if applicable) after 
the claims are paid. SPF 24.6 includes language 
that 30 days should be given to file the account; 
however, more time could be allowed in the 
court’s discretion. 

All allowed claims in a particular class as 
set forth in R.C. 2117.25 are to be paid in full 
before allowed claims in a succeeding class 

can be paid. When there are insufficient 
assets to pay all claims in a particular class 

in full, the claims in that class are to be paid 
on a prorated basis. The following formula 

can be used to determine the prorated 
amount to be paid:

NOTE

Reference Notice of Hearing on Account  
under R.C. 2109.33.

NOTE

Amount Remaining
to Pay Class

Total Amount
Owed that Class

Prorata Rate 
at which Each Debt 
in the Class Is Paid

=



 LAND SALES: DECEDENT ESTATE AND GUARDIANSHIP

VENUE [R.C. 2127.09]

1.	 County in which the executor, administrator, 
or guardian was appointed.

2.	 County where real estate located. 

DECEDENT ESTATE COMPLAINT [R.C. 2127.10]

1.	 Basis for Sale: [R.C. 2127.02 to 2127.04]

a.	 To pay debts [R.C. 2127.02]

b.	 To pay legacies [R.C.2127.03]

c.	 Other circumstances [R.C. 2127.04]

2.  Necessary Parties: [R.C. 2127.12]

a.	 Surviving spouse 

b.	 All persons entitled to inherit

c.	 Mortgage and lienholders 

d.	 All persons holding title 

e.	 All other persons who have interest 

GUARDIANSHIP COMPLAINT [R.C. 2127.10]

1.	 Basis for Sale: [R.C. 2127.05]

a.	 Education of the ward  	

b.	 Support of the ward

c.	 Payment of debts

d.	 Discharge liens

e.	 Avoid waste

f.	 Better investment

g.	 Benefit the ward 

h.	 Lay out in town lots [R.C. 2127.21]

2.	 Necessary Parties: [R.C. 2127.13]

a.	 The ward

b.	 The ward’s spouse

c.	 The ward’s next of kin residing in Ohio

d.	 All lienholders

e.	 All other persons who have interest 

BOTH COMPLAINTS [R.C. 2127.10]

1.	 Legal description 

2.	 Statement of value 

REAL PROPERTY SUBJECT TO SALE  

1.	 Legal or equitable interests in real property 
including mineral rights. [R.C. 2127.07] 

2.	 Undivided fractional or entire interest may 
be sold. [R.C. 2127.08]

SERVICE [R.C. 2127.14]

1.	 Defendants must be served with summons 
and complaint per Civ.R. 4.

2.	 Competent persons may waive service and 
consent to the sale. If all parties consent to 
the sale, an order of sale may be issued.   

GUARDIAN AD LITEM

Upon motion, the court will appoint a Guardian 
ad litem to represent the interest of the minor or 
incompetent and to file an answer. [R.C. 2111.23]; 
[Civ.R. 17(B)]

•	 Request to hire and pay realtor and/or auctioneer. 
[R.C. 2127.28]

•	 Serve the county treasurer. 


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EVIDENCE OF TITLE

Evidence of title, to a date subsequent to the filing 
of the complaint, is required to be filed prior to the 
issuance of an order of sale, subject to local rules. 
[Sup.R. 65(A)] 

ENTRY FINDING SALE NECESSARY 

1.	 Court may grant the relief if all necessary 
parties are properly before the court. 
[R.C. 2127.18] 

2.	 Court may determine equities among parties 
and priorities of liens. [R.C. 2127.18]

3.	 Order should find and include the 
following:

a.	 All parties properly before the court.

b.	 Allegation in Complaint is true.

c.	 Proper basis to bring land sale action 
under Chapter 2127. [R.C. 2127.02 to 2127.05]

d.	 Requirement of title evidence has been 
met. [Sup.R. 65(A)]

e.	 Appraisement of property or is 
appraisement dispensed with. [R.C. 2127.22]

f.	 Need for additional bond. [R.C. 2127.27]

g.	 Approval of realty commissions.

h.	 Order of sale to be issued or deferred for 
appraisement. [R.C. 2127.29]

APPRAISEMENT [R.C. 2127.22]

1.	 If real property was appraised in the 
Inventory of the fiduciary the court may 
approve the use of the appraised value for 
the real property set forth in the Inventory.

2.	 The court may order an appraisement if 
the real property was not appraised in the 
Inventory or if the court determines that a 
new appraisal should be ordered. Oath of 
Appraiser is required. [R.C. 2127.23] The court 
shall set the compensation for the appraiser. 
[R.C. 2127.25] 

3.	 Upon the return and approval of the 
appraisement the appraised value shall be 
the appraised value of the real property. 

ADDITIONAL BOND [R.C. 2127.27] 

Upon approval of the appraisement the court shall 
require the executor, administrator, or guardian to 
post additional bond, unless testator has waived.

ORDER OF SALE [R.C. 2127.29]

1.	 The court will issue an order of public or 
private sale that sets forth terms of sale. 
[R.C. 2127.34] 

2.	 A private sale order requires the real 
property to be sold for the appraised 
value. [R.C. 2127.33] Order of private sale shall 
be returned and if returned unsold the 
court may order the real property sold at 
public sale [R.C. 2127.32] or the court may fix 
the price for sale or order the real property 
reappraised. [R.C. 2127.33] 

3.	 The real property may be sold at public 
sale for not less than two-thirds of the 
appraised value if improved or for not less 
than one-half of appraised value if property 
is not improved. [R.C. 2127.33] Real property 
sold at public sale must be sold at a fixed 
place, day, and hour ordered by the court. 
Notice of the time and place of sale shall be 
advertised at least three successive weeks in 
a newspaper of general circulation in the 
county where the real property is situated. 
[R.C. 2127.32]

4.	 Sup.R. 65(B) requires the Plaintiff to give 
notice of the place and time of sale to all 
defendants at least three week prior to 
the sale. The Plaintiff is required to file a 
certificate of service with the court prior to 
the sale.  
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CONFIRMATION OF SALE [R.C. 2127.35]

1.	 Upon return of the order of sale, and upon 
motion, the court may confirm the sale if 
the court finds that the sale in all respects 
has been legally made. 

2.	 The order to confirm the sale will authorize 
the Plaintiff to issue a fiduciary deed, and 
may order distribution of sale proceeds and 
release of liens under R.C. 2127.19 and R.C. 2127.38.

3.	 The entry confirming sale shall include 
the gross amount of the sale proceeds 
and include a copy of the proposed 
closing statement itemizing all proposed 
disbursements. [Sup.R. 65(C)]

4.	 Property may be sold subject to a mortgage 
with consent of the mortgagee. [R.C. 2127.20] 
Sale is free of dower. Payment for dower 
interest shall be ordered unless waived. 
[R.C. 2127.16]

5.	 Costs of certificate of title or policy of title 
insurance may be allowed by the court. 
[R.C. 2127.28] Real estate commissions may be 
allowed after notice to all parties in interest. 
[R.C. 2127.28] The executor, administrator, or 
guardian may be allowed fiduciary fees and 
reasonable attorney fees. [R.C. 2127.37 and 2127.38]

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.	 Summary Proceeding - market value of real 
property is less than $3,000.00 [R.C. 2127.11]

2.	 Objection to Sale [R.C. 2127.31 and 2127.17]; 
[Sup.R. 65(D)]
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ACCOUNTS [R.C. 2109.30, 2109.301, 2109.31, 2109.32, 2109.33]

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 13.0: Fiduciary’s Account
2.	 SPF 13.1: Receipts and Disbursements
3.	 SPF 13.2: Assets Remaining in 

Fiduciary’s Hands 
4.	 SPF 13.3: Entry Approving and 

Settling Account
5.	 SPF 13.4: Waiver of Partial Account
6.	 SPF 13.5: Notice of Hearing on 

Account
7.	 SPF 13.6: Certificate of Termination
8.	 SPF 13.7: Waiver of Notice of Hearing 

on Account
9.	 SPF 13.8: Application to Extend 

Administration
10.	SPF 13.9: Certificate of Service of 

Account to Heirs or Beneficiaries
11.	SPF 13.10: Notice to Extend 

Administration
12.	Status Report [Sup.R. 78(C)]

TYPES [R.C. 2109.30]

1.	 Partial Accounting
a.	 Each partial accounting may be 

waived by written consent of all 
the legatees, devisees, or heirs, as 
long as none of them are under 
a disability, and filed in lieu of 
a partial accounting otherwise 
required. [R.C. 2109.301(A)]

b.	 Status report filed for estates that 
remain open after a period of 
13 months from appointment of 
fiduciary and annually thereafter. 
[Sup.R. 78(C)]

c.	 Supplemental [R.C. 2109.32(B)(4)]

2.	 Final Accounting
a.	 Final Distributive 
b.	 Final Non-Distributive

3.	 Certificate of Termination – fiduciary 
is sole legatee, devisee and heir 

	 [R.C. 2109.301(B)(2)] (SPF 13.6)

TIME FRAMES [R.C. 2109.301]

1.	 Final Accounting
a.	 Six (6) months after appointment of 

fiduciary, [R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)] exceptions:
i.    An Ohio estate tax return must be 

filed. [R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(a)]

ii.  A proceeding contesting the 
validity of the decedent’s will 
pursuant to R.C. 2107.71 has been 
commenced. [R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(b)]

iii. The surviving spouse has filed an 
election to take against the will. 
[RC 3109.301(B)(1)(c)]

iv.  The administrator or executor is a 
party in a civil action. 

	 [R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(d)]

v.   The estate is insolvent. 
[R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(e)]

vi.  For other reasons set forth by the 
administrator or executor, subject 
to court approval, it would be 
detrimental to the estate and its 
beneficiaries or heirs to file a final 
and distributive account. 
[R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(f)]

2.	 Partial Accounting [R.C. 2109.301(B)(4)]

a. 	 After initial account is rendered 
or waiver of partial account filed, 
adm./exec. at least once each year 
shall render further accounts or 
file waivers of partial account until 
estate is closed unless certificate of 
termination is filed.

SERVICE/HEARING/NOTICE

1. 	 Service of Account [R.C. 2109.32(B)]

a. 	 Copy of account provided by Adm./
Exec. to each heir in intestate estate 
or each beneficiary of testate estate, 
except:
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i.	 Heir or beneficiary with 
unknown residence

ii.	 Beneficiary of specific bequest 
or devise who has received 
distribution and receipt has 
been filed or exhibited with 
Court.

b. 	 Certificate of Service of Account 
shall be filed with Court prior to 
or simultaneously with filing of 
account.

2. 	 Hearing [R.C. 2109.32(A)]

a. 	 Every account shall be set for 
hearing

b. 	 Hearing not sooner than 30 days 
after filing of account

3. 	 Service of Notice of Hearing [R.C. 2109.33]

a. 	 Fiduciary serves notice of hearing 
on account pursuant to Rules of 
Civil Procedure upon any person 
interested in estate, including 
creditors as court may direct.
i. 	 Court, by local rule, may 

require notice of hearing on 
a final account be given to all 
heirs in intestate estate and to 
all residuary beneficiaries in a 
testate estate.

b. 	 Notice of hearing shall be served 
at least 15 days prior to hearing 
on account or may be waived by 
any competent person.

c. 	 Written exceptions filed 5 days 
prior to hearing.

FAILURE TO FILE OR APPEAR [R.C. 2109.31]

1.	 Failure to file:
a. 	 Citation issued

i.   Court may issue at own 
instance

ii.  Court shall issue upon 
application of interested party

2.	 After citation, possible sanctions for the 
continued failure to file include:
a.	 Removal
b.	 Denial of all or part of fiduciary fees
c.	 Extension to file
d.	 $100.00 assessment and $25.00 court 

costs
e.	 Contempt of court
f.	 Sanctions may be imposed only upon 

a fiduciary and not upon surety of 
any fiduciary

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.	 Motion to Vacate after Account 
approved. [R.C. 2109.35]

2.	 Court shall not close the estate until a 
claim is allowed or rejected. [R.C. 2117.06(I)]

3.	 Court shall not approve final account 
until: 
a.	 3 months have passed since the death 

of decedent [R.C. 2109.32(B)(3)(a)]

b.	 Surviving spouse has filed an election 
or time for making the election has 
expired. [R.C. 2109.32(B)(3)(b)]

4.	 If land has been sold, a copy of the 
closing statement has been attached. 
[Sup.R. 64(B)]

5.	 Final or distributive account shall not be 
approved until all court costs have been 
paid. [Sup.R. 64(E)]

6.	 Termination of surety bond for fiduciary 
upon approval of final and distributive 
account [R.C. 2109.32(A)]

7.	 If Certificate of Termination is filed, sole 
legatee/devisee/heir may be liable to 
creditors for claims presented after filing 
of Certificate of Termination and within 
time allowed by R.C. 2117.06 [R.C. 2109.301(B)(3)]
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WRONGFUL DEATH CLAIMS [R.C. 2125.01 to 2125.04]

FILINGS

1.  SPF 14.0: Application to Approve Settlement 
and Distribution of Wrongful Death and 
Survival Claims. A Statement of Facts and 
other supporting documents should be 
attached pursuant to SupR. 70.

2.  SPF 14.0 (Bottom) or Local Form: Entry 
Setting Hearing and Ordering Notice 

3.  SPF 14.1: Waiver and Consent Wrongful 
Death and Survival Claims

4.  SPF 14.2: Entry Approving Settlement and 
Distribution of Wrongful Death and Survival 
Claims      

5.  SPF 14.3: Report of Distribution of Wrongful 
Death and Survival Claims

6.  SPF 14.3 (Bottom) or Local Form: Entry 
Approving Report of Distribution

JURISDICTION & VENUE

A personal representative appointed by a probate 
court may settle with a defendant in a wrongful 
death case with the consent of the court making 
the appointment. [R.C. 2125.02(C)]

	

TIME FRAME

A civil action for wrongful death shall be 
commenced within two (2) years after the 
decedent’s death, subject to certain statutory 
exceptions. [R.C. 2125.02(D)] There is no time frame 
for filing of an application to approve a wrongful 
death settlement. However, the existence of a 
wrongful death action is grounds to extend the 
administration of the decedent’s estate beyond 6 
months. [R.C. 2109.301(B)(1)(d)]; (SPF 13.10)

NOTICE/SERVICE

1. 	 Notice of the hearing should be served upon 
those persons rebuttably presumed to have 
suffered damages as a result of the wrongful 
death, i.e. the surviving spouse, children 
and parents of the deceased. [R.C. 2125.02(A)(1)] 
Other “relatives” who suffered damages 
should also be given notice (e.g. siblings or 
grandparents). [R.C. 2125.02(A)(1)]

2. 	 Notice should be served pursuant to Civ.R. 73(E).
3. 	 Notice may be waived. (SPF 14.1)

HEARING

1. 	 The court must consider whether to approve 
the proffered settlement. [R.C. 2125.02(C)]; 

	 [Sup.R. 70] Compensatory damages on a 
wrongful death claim include loss of 
support, loss of services, loss of society, loss 
of inheritance and mental anguish. 

	 [R.C. 2125.02(B)]

2. 	 The court must consider whether the claim 
is entirely for wrongful death (e.g. the 
decedent died instantly in a car crash) or 
for a survival claim (e.g. the decedent was 
injured but died from an unrelated illness) 
or a hybrid of both (e.g. decedent was 
injured and died as result of the injuries 
one month later). Payment on the wrongful 
death component is not included in the 
probate estate of the decedent. Payment on 
the survival claim component is part of the 
probate estate. 

The persons listed as next of kin on SPF 1.0 are not necessarily 
the only persons to be served notice of an application to 

approve a wrongful death settlement.

NOTE
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The underlying civil action is not filed in the probate court. 
However, the approval of a settlement of the case is heard in 

the probate court which appointed the fiduciary.

NOTE



3. 	 The court shall adjust the share of each 
beneficiary in an equitable manner, taking 
into consideration the injury and loss each 
beneficiary suffered due to the death as 
well as taking the age and condition of each 
beneficiary into account. [R.C. 2125.03 (A)(1)] However, 
if all beneficiaries are adult, competent, and 
on the same plane of consanguinity, they may 
adjust the shares among themselves without 
court involvement. [R.C. 2125.03(A)(1)]

4. 	 The burden of proof to approve the amount 
of the settlement is upon the personal 
representative. Each beneficiary of the 
wrongful death action has the burden to 
prove the injury and loss they suffered as a 
result of the wrongful death.

5. 	 The standard of proof is by preponderance 
	 of the evidence. 
6. 	 The statute expressly allows for the award 

of funeral and burial expenses incurred as a 
result of the wrongful death. [R.C. 2125.02(A)(2)]. 

	 Outstanding medical bills and subrogation 
claims may be ordered paid from the 
settlement proceeds.

MINORS

1. 	 If the decedent was a minor, a parent who 
abandoned the minor can be ordered by 
the court not to recover any damages from 
the wrongful death action. The personal 
representative or other wrongful death 
beneficiary may file the motion. [R.C. 2125.02(A)(1) 
and (E)(1)]

2. 	 If a minor is a beneficiary of the wrongful 
death action as defined in R.C. 2125.02(G)(4), a 
Guardian ad litem should be appointed to 
represent the interest of the minor in the 
proceedings if the personal representative 
is the minor’s surviving parent or who 
otherwise has a conflict with the minor’s 
interest.

3. 	 The court may create a trust for any 
beneficiary of the wrongful death action 
who is under 25 years of age. [R.C. 2125.03(A)(2] 
The trustee of such a trust shall be approved 
by each adult beneficiary and by the 
guardian of each minor beneficiary before 
being appointed. [R.C. 2125.03 (A)(2)]

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

Removal of Executor or Administrator [R.C. 2113.18(B)]
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SUMMARY RELEASE FROM ADMINISTRATION [R.C. 2113.031]

FILINGS 

1.	 Receipt, contract, or written declaration to 
verify payment or obligation to pay funeral 
and burial expenses.

2.	 SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of 
Kin, Legatees and Devisees 

3.	 SPF 5.10: Summary Release From 
Administration 

4.	 SPF 5.11: Entry Granting Summary Release 
From Administration 

5.	 SPF 12.0: Application for Certificate of 
Transfer 

6.	 SPF 12.1: Certificate of Transfer 

APPLICANT [R.C. 2113.031]

Surviving Spouse:			
1.	 The value of the probate assets does not 

exceed $40,000.00 for the allowance for 
support under R.C. 2106.13(B) (SPF 5.10) and an 
amount not to exceed $5,000.00 for funeral 
and burial expenses; and

2.	 The surviving spouse is entitled to receive 
the entire allowance for support and has 
paid or is obligated in writing to pay the 
decedent’s funeral and burial expenses 
not to exceed $5,000.00 or the funeral and 
burial expenses have been prepaid.

Other Persons:

1.	 The value of probate assets does not exceed 
the lesser of $5,000.00 or the funeral and 
burial expenses.

2.	 The applicant paid or is obligated in writing 
to pay the funeral and burial expenses. 	

APPLICATION (SPF 5.10)

1.	 Must describe all known assets and be signed 
and acknowledged in the presence of a 
notary or the deputy clerk of probate court. 

ENTRY (SPF 5.11)

1.	 Probate Court shall order a summary release 
from administration if:
a.	 The applicant satisfies statutory 

requirements of R.C. 2113.031

b.	 There are no pending proceedings 
to administer the decedent’s estate or 
to relieve the decedent’s estate from 
administration under R.C. 2113.03, and 

c.	 The SPF 5.10 filed by the applicant lists 
all known assets of the decedent.

CERTIFICATE OF TRANSFER (SPF 12.0 and 
12.1)

1.	 The surviving spouse may elect to receive 
the mansion house under R.C. 2106.10 in a 
summary release.

2.	 The applicant shall file an Application 
for Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.0) if an 
interest in real property is listed on SPF 5.10.

3.	 The probate court is required to issue a 
Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.1) within 
five days of the filing of the Application for 
Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.0) under 

	 R.C. 2113.61(C).

Death Certificate and/or Obituary

Check records of the county recorder’s 
and/or auditor’s office.
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RELEASE FROM ADMINISTRATION

FILINGS 

1.	 SPF 1.0: Surviving Spouse, Children, Next of 
Kin, Legatees and Devisees 

2.	 SPF 2.0: Application To Probate Will 
3.	 SPF 2.3: Entry Admitting Will to Probate 
4.	 SPF 3.0: Appointment of Appraiser 
5.	 SPF 5.0: Application to Relieve Estate from 

Administration 
6.	 SPF 5.1: Assets and Liabilities of Estate to be 

Relieved from Administration 
7.	 SPF 5.2: Waiver of Notice of Application to 

Relieve Estate from Administration 
8.	 SPF 5.3: Notice of Application to Relieve 

Estate from Administration 
9.	 SPF 5.4: Publication of Notice 
10.	SPF 5.6: Entry Relieving Estate from 

Administration 
11.	SPF 7.0: Certificate of Notice to 

Administrator of Medicaid Estate Recovery 
Program 

12.	SPF 7.0(A) Notice to Administrator of 
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program

13.	SPF 7.2: Application for Apportionment of 
Family Allowance 

14.	SPF 11.0: Consent to Power to Sell Real 
Estate 

15.	SPF 12.0: Application for Certificate of 
Transfer 

16.	SPF 12.1: Certificate of Transfer 

APPLICANT [R.C. 2113.03]

Surviving Spouse:	 		
1.	 The value of the probate assets are 

$100,000.00 or less for death on or after 
March 18, 1999 (SPF 5.0) and:

a.	 The surviving spouse is entitled to all assets 
of the estate by the terms of a valid will; or

b.	 The surviving spouse is entitled to receive 
all assets of the estate for the allowance 
for support under R.C. 2106.13(B) and/or 

for inheritance under R.C. 2105.06, and the 
marriage was solemnized in a manner 
consistent with R.C. 3101.

Other Persons:
1.	 The value of probate assets are $35,000.00 

or less for deaths on or after November 9, 
1994 (SPF 5.0).

APPLICATION (SPF 5.0)

1.	 Must state if the decedent died testate or 
intestate. If testate, pleadings to probate the 
will may be required. [R.C. 2113.03(F)]

2.	 Must state that the value of the probate 
assets meet the requirements for a release 
for the date of death as noted on SPF 5.0.

3.	 The probate court may order notice to be 
given to the surviving spouse and heirs at 
law, and order notice to all interested parties 
by publication. (SPF 5.2, 5.3, and 5.4) 

ASSETS (SPF 5.1)

1.	 The applicant is required to describe and to 
value the probate assets on SPF 5.1.

2.	 An approved appraiser may be used to 
value assets that do not have a readily 
ascertainable value, and be paid as provided 
for under R.C. 2115.06. 

3.	 The applicant is required to list all known 
debts of the decedent on the SPF 5.1.

4.	 The applicant is required to serve SPF 
7.0(A) on the Administrator of the Medicaid 
Estate Recovery Program and to file SPF 
7.0 with the probate court if the decedent 
was age 55 or older or was a permanently 
institutionalized individual who was 
receiving Medicaid assistance. [R.C. 2117.061]

5.	 If the allowance for support must be 
apportioned under R.C. 2106.13 the applicant 
shall file SPF 7.2 and obtain an order for the 
probate court. 
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ENTRY (SPF 5.6)

1.	 Probate Court shall order the estate relieved 
from administration if:
a.	 The assets meet the statutory 

requirements of R.C. 2113.031; and
b.	 Required notice has been given. 

[R.C. 2113.03(B)]

CERTIFICATE OF TRANSFER (SPF 12.0 and 
12.1)

1.	 Surviving spouse may elect to receive the 
mansion house under R.C. 2106.10(D) in a release 
from administration.

2.	 The applicant shall file an Application 
for Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.0) if an 
interest in real property is listed on SPF 5.1. 
[R.C. 2113.61]

3.	 The probate court is required to issue a 
Certificate of Transfer (SPF 12.1) within 
five days of the filing of the Application for 
Certificate of Transfer under R.C. 2113.61(C).

APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER 
[R.C. 2113.03(E)]

1.	 The probate court may appoint a 
commissioner to receive the assets, to sell 
personal property assets, to pay the debts 
and expenses and to distribute the assets as 
authorized.

2.	 The commissioner may be authorized by the 
filing of consents to a power of sale of real 
property (SPF 11.0) under R.C. 2127.011 or to sell 
the decedent’s interest in real property. 

3.	 The commissioner may be ordered to file 
a Commissioner’s Report within 60 days of 
his or her appointment to verify that the 
commissioner has performed his or her 
duties. (SPF 5.6)
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ADOPTION [R.C. 3107.01 - 3107.19; R.C. 5103.15, 5103.152 & 5103.16]

FILINGS

1.	 Form 18.0: Petition for Adoption of Minor
2.	 Form 18.1: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing
3.	 Form 18.2: Notice of Hearing on Petition for 

Adoption
4.	 Form 18.3: Consent to Adoption
5.	 Form 18.4: Judgment Entry Finding Consent 

Not Required
6.	 Form 18.5: Interlocutory Order of Adoption
7.	 Form 18.6: Final Decree of Adoption (After 

Interlocutory Order) 
8.	 Form 18.7: Final Decree of Adoption 

(Without Interlocutory Order) 
9.	 Form 18.8: Adoption Certificate for Parents
10.	Form 18.9: Petitioner’s Account
11.	Vital Statistics - Certificate of Adoption 

(HEA 2757)
12.	Form 19.0: Petition for Adoption of Adult
13.	Form 19.1: Final Order of Adult Adoption
14.	Form 19.2: Petition to Recognize Foreign 

Adoption
15.	Form 19.3: Order for Ohio Birth Record for 

Foreign Born Child

WHO MAY BE ADOPTED [R.C. 3107.02]

• 	 A minor, or
• 	 A non-objecting adult if: 

1.	 Totally or permanently disabled

2.	 Intellectual disability (as defined in R.C. 5123.01)
3.	 Established child-foster caregiver, kinship 

caregiver or child-stepparent relationship 
while a minor and consents 

4.	 On 18th birthday was in permanent 
custody or in Planned Permanent Living 
Arrangement of a children’s services agency 
and consents or 

5.	 Adult is child of spouse of petitioner and 
consents 

6.	 Became 18 between filing of petition and 
court decision and consents in writing

WHO MAY ADOPT [R.C. 3107.03]

• 	 Married couple
• 	 Unmarried adult 
• 	 Unmarried minor parent of adoptee or
• 	 Married adult without joining spouse if: 

1.	 stepparent adoption 

2.	 legally separated pursuant to R.C. 3103.06 or 3105.17

3.	 spouse fails to join because of a prolonged, 
unexplained absence, unavailability, 
incapacity, or other reasonable 
circumstances.

VENUE [R.C. 3107.04]

• 	 Petition for adoption filed in the county where: 
1.	 adoptee was born or resides 
2.	 petitioner resides 
3.	 parent of adoptee resides 
4.	 petitioner is stationed for military service or 
5.	 agency having permanent custody is located.

PLACEMENT [R.C. 5103.15 and 5103.16]

• 	 Persons having custody of child may enter 
	 into written agreement with agency certified 

by Department of Job & Family Services to give 
custody of child to the agency or may place/
receive child for adoption or intent to adopt if 
all of the following criteria are met: 
1.	 Parent[s] have applied to and appeared 

before probate court, where they reside or 
where person seeking to adopt resides, for 
approval of placement and signed/filed 
written statement they are aware of right to 
contest decree of adoption [R.C. 5103.16(D)(1)] 

2.	 Court ordered independent home study per 
R.C. 3107.031 and after completion, court 
determined placement in best interest of 
child [R.C. 5103.16(D)(2)] 

3.	 Court approved of record the proposed 
placement. [R.C. 5103.16(D)(3)]

4.	 Suitability of placement of foreign children 
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for adoption determined by probate court; 
look to compliance with laws of the country 
in which the child resides and release in 
accordance with the “Immigration and 
Nationality Act” 8 U.S.C. 101 (b)(1)(F). [R.C. 5103.16(D)(3)]

	 *Does not apply to adoption by stepparent, 
grandparent, grandparent’s husband or wife, a 
legal custodian or a guardian.

• 	 Placement by Attorney
A. 	Preplacement/Post Placement Approval of 

Prospective Adoptive Parent(*s)
1. 	 Filing of Pre or Post Placement 

Application
a. 	 File Supplement to Preplacement 

Application and any other requested 
documents

B. 	Birth Parent requirements Prior to 
Placement Hearing [R.C. 5103.16]

1. 	 Birth parent(s) must meet with an 
Adoption Assessor
a. 	 Assessor’s duties [R.C. 3107.082 and 3107.03]

2. The court may want to assign counsel for 
minor parent(s) and parent(s) under 
guardianship

C. 	Placement Hearing requirements
1. 	 Birth parent must appear in the probate 

court county where a birth parent resides 
or wehere the prospective adoptive 
parent(s) reside [R.C. 3107.04]

2. 	 Determination of necessity of parental 
consent [R.C. 3107.06 and R.C. 3107.07]

3. 	 Execution of parental consent [R.C. 3107.08 
and R.C. 3107.081]

4. 	 Preliminary check of the Putative Father 
Registry

5. 	 The court must:
a. 	 Approve the birth parents’ 

application for placement
b. 	 Find that birth parent(s) have 

consented to the adoption as 
proposed and understand her/his/
their right to contest the adoption 
under R.C. 3107.16

c. 	 Find that the proposed placement is 
in the “best interest” of the child to 
be adopted [R.C. 3107.161]

D. 	Post Placement Orders and Filings
1. 	 Hospital Release
2. 	 Petition for adoption is filed [R.C. 3107.04 

through R.C. 3107.051]

• 	 Placement by Adoption Agency
A. 	Agency will prepare all documentation 

necessary for approval of adoptive parent(s)
B. 	Agency assessor will meet with biological 

parent(s) [R.C. 3107.082]

C. 	See previous section, Placement by Attorney 
(A), (B), and (C)

• 	 Placement statute does not apply to relative/
guardian's placement [R.C. 5103.16(E)(1)]

INTERSTATE COMPACT [R.C. 5103.20]

Controls the Adoption of Children Born in One State 
to Be Adopted in Another

• 	 Form 100A – signed by Compact Director from 
	 sending state and receiving state
• 	 Form 100B – report on placement status/
	 compact termination
• 	 Forms can be found at Interstate Compact on 

the Placement of Children  (ICPC) website: 
http://glossary.adoption.com/interstate-compact-on-the-placement-of-
children- (icpc).html

PETITION FOR ADOPTION [R.C. 3107.05]

• 	 Must contain: 
1.	 date and place of birth of adoptee
2.	 name of adoptee, if known 
3.	 new name to be used 
4.	 date of placement and name of person 

placing minor 
5.	 petitioner’s full name, age, place and 

duration of residence 
6.	 petitioner’s marital status (date and place of 

marriage) 
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7.	 relationship of petitioner to adoptee, if any 
8.	 petitioner’s resources 
9.	 account of property of adoptee; 
10.	name and address, if known, of the person 

whose consent is required, but has not 
consented, and facts explaining lack of 
consent. 

• 	 Must also have certified copy of adoptee’s birth 
	 certificate and ordinary copy of required 

consents. 

CONSENT REQUIRED BY: [R.C. 3107.06]

• 	 Mother of the minor;
• 	 Father, if: 

1.	 minor was conceived while mother and 
father were married 

2.	 minor was adopted by father or 
3.	 paternity was established in a court 

proceeding or acknowledged'

• Putative father of minor;
• 	 Any person or agency having permanent 

custody or court order to consent;
• 	 Minor if more than 12 years old, unless court
	 determines consent is not required.

CONSENT NOT REQUIRED BY: [R.C. 3107.07]

• 	 Parent who has not communicated with the 
minor or provided support for 1 year

• 	 Putative father who didn’t timely register with 
the putative father registry, is not the father, 
willfully abandoned or didn’t support child, 
or willfully abandoned the mother during 
pregnancy

• 	 Parent whose right to consent was relinquished 
or terminated

• 	 Legal guardian who failed to respond to request 
for consent within 30 days or who is withholding 
consent unreasonably

• 	 The spouse of the adoptee if consent 
cannot be attained because of prolonged 
unexplained absence, unavailability, incapacity, 
or circumstances that make it impossible or 

unreasonably difficult to obtain the consent or 
refusal of the spouse.

• 	 Does not include all situations under R.C. 3107.07(F) 
	 speaks to consent of convicted rapist where 

adoptee conceived by rape and R.C. 3107.07(J) 
considers consent of the parent/guardian 
located in a foreign county.)

EXECUTION OF CONSENT [R.C. 3107.08]

• Consent to adoption may be executed 72 hours 
after the birth of the minor by: 

1.	 person to be adopted, in the presence of the 
court 

2.	 parent of person to be adopted 

3.	 executive head or other authorized 
representative of an agency 

4.	 any other person, in the presence of the 
court or an authorized person or 

5.	 a juvenile court, by appropriate order.

WITHDRAWAL OF CONSENT [R.C. 3107.084]

• 	 Can be withdrawn prior to entry of 
interlocutory order or final order. 
o 	 Hearing to determine best interest of the 

child with notice to petitioner, person 
seeking withdrawal, and placing agency.

• 	 Cannot be withdrawn after entry of 
interlocutory order or final order.

PRELIMINARY ESTIMATES AND FINAL 
ACCOUNTING [R.C. 3107.055]

• 	 Petitioners file preliminary estimate not later 
	 than the time adoption petition is filed.
• 	 Itemized, attested final accounting of all 
	 disbursements made in connection with 

adoption, including charges of attorney/agency, 
filed no later than 10 days before final hearing; 
final decree not issued until at least 10 days 
after final accounting filed.

• 	 Permissible disbursements found in R.C. 3107.055; 
	 court may reduce or prohibit.
• 	 No accounting for stepparent adoptions.
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HEARING AND NOTICE [R.C. 3107.11]

• 	 After petition, court sets hearing any time more 
	 than 30 days after placement.
• 	 At least 20 days’ notice of hearing given to: 

1.	 anyone whose consent is required but who 
has not consented 

2.	 person whose consent is dispensed with but 
who hasn’t consented; and 

3.	 anyone having temporary or permanent 
custody of child.

ASSESSMENT [R.C. 3107.12]

• 	 Before court issues final decree or finalizes 
	 interlocutory order, assessor must conduct a 

prefinalization assessment of minor/petitioner; 
written report at least 20 days before final 
hearing (stepparent adoption assessment 
optional). 

• 	 Assessment includes: 
1.	 adjustment to placement 
2.	 needs of minor and petitioner 
3.	 physical, mental, and developmental 

condition of the minor 
4.	 minor’s biological family background 
5.	 reasons for placement 
6.	 attitude of minor toward adoption; 
7.	 if the minor is an Indian Child how 

placement complies with Indian Child 
Welfare Act of 1978 

8.	 psychological history, including prior abuse 
9.	 if applicable, forms and documents required 

under R.C. 3107.032, 3107.10, and 3107.101.
10.	Social and medical history of biological 

parents. 

HOME STUDY [R.C. 3107.031]

• 	 Except for foster children in the home for at 
least 6 months, the home study shall be filed 
with court at least 10 days before petition for 
adoption is heard.

•	 A qualified adoption assessor shall prepare the 
home study, prefinalization assessments, and 
any other reports required by the court

• 	 Assessor qualifications under R.C. 3107.014. Must be 
	 employed by, appointed by or under contract 

with a court, public children services agency, 
private child placing agency or private 
noncustodial agency. Individual must be a: 
1.	 Licensed professional counselor, social 

worker or marriage and family therapist 
2.	 Licensed psychologist 
3.	 Student working to earn a four year, post-

secondary degree or higher in a social or 
behavior science, who conducts assessor’s 
duties under the supervision of a licensed 
professional counselor, social worker, 
marriage and family therapist, psychologist 
(as of July 1, 2009, a student is eligible only 
if the supervising professional counselor, 
social worker, marriage and family therapist 
or psychologist has completed training in 
accordance with rules adopted under 
R.C. 3107.015) 

4.	 Civil service employee engaging in social 
work without a license under R.C. 4757. 

5.	 Former employee of a public children 
services agency who, while employed, 
conducted the duties of an assessor.

 
EFFECT OF FINAL DECREE [R.C. 3107.15]

• 	 Decree relieves biological or other legal parents 
of parental rights and responsibilities, except 
with respect to spouse of petitioner.

APPEAL [R.C. 3107.16]

• 	 After 1 year, the order cannot be questioned, 
	 even for fraud, unless: 

1.	 petitioner has not taken custody of minor 
2.	 stepparent adoption would not have been 

granted but for fraud of the petitioner 
stepparent or spouse or 

3.	 in an adult adoption, the adult has no 
knowledge of the order within a 6-month 
period.
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CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION [R.C. 3107.19]

• 	 Clerk or adoptive parents may forward copy of 
	 Certificate of Adoption to Bureau of Vital 

Statistics within 30 days of final order.

RELEASE OF IDENTIFYING INFORMATION 

•	 Adopted prior to 1964, adoptees and lineal 
descendants over the age of 18 may file an 
Application for Adoption File with the Ohio 
Department of Health (ODH) (Form HEA 
3011) [R.C. 3107.38]

•	 Adopted Jan. 1, 1964 through Sept. 18, 1996, 
adoptees and lineal descendants over the age 
of 18 may file an Application for Adoption File 
and Authorization of Release of Adopted Name 
with ODH
○	 Application for Adoption File (Form HEA 

3011)
a. 	 $20 filing fee
b. 	 Two forms of identification
c. 	 Lineal descendants will have to show 

lineal relationship between themselves 
and the adoptee

○	 Authorization of Release of Adopted Name 
(Form HEA 3036)
a. 	 Filed by adoptee
b. 	 Allows ODH to release adopted name to 

biological parents or siblings upon their 
request

c. 	 May be rescinded by filing Rescission 
of Authorization of Release of Adopted 
Name (Form HEA 3037)

•	 Adopted after Sept. 18, 1996
○	 Adoption records may be opened if the 

adopted person is older than 21 by filing 
Application for Adoption File with ODH 
(Form HEA 3011) [R5.C. 3107.47]

○	 If between the ages of 18 and 21, adoptive 
parent may request adoption file [R.C. 3107.47]

•	 Regardless of date of adoption, and upon 
request to the court, the Social/Medical History 
form maintained by the court may be inspected 

by the adoptive parents during the minority of 
adopted person, or by the adopted person once 
he/she reaches the age of majority [R.C. 3107.17]

	

OPEN ADOPTIONS

• 	 Profiles of prospective adoptive parents may be 
	 shown to birth parent. [R.C. 3107.61]

• 	 Does not provide for birth parent to maintain 
	 parental authority or control. [R.C. 3107.065(A)(1)]

REFINALIZATION OF FOREIGN ADOPTION 
[R.C. 3107.18(A) and (B)]

• 	 Child born in foreign country is placed with 
	 adoptive parent(s) in this state for purpose 

of adoption and if adoption was previously 
finalized in country of child’s birth, adoptive 
parents may file petition in probate court in 
their county of residence requesting court issue 
a final decree of adoption or interlocutory 
order of adoption pursuant to R.C. 3107.14 

• 	 Proof of finalization of adoption outside U.S. is 
	 prima-facie evidence of consent of parties who 

are required to give consent even if foreign 
decree or certificate of adoption was issued with 
respect to only one of two adoptive parents who 
seek to adopt child in this state

• 	 Visa IH-4 or IR-4
• 	 Cases where adoption completed prior to 
	 adoptive parents seeing the child, often by use 

of proxy or power of attorney
• 	 Ohio recognizes the adoption of child, with or 
	 without citizenship attaching. Ohio gives full 

faith and credit to a foreign decree for child 
legally residing in the state

• 	 Upon completion of adoption, couple must 
	 file with Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration 

Services to obtain citizenship for the child
• 	 IH-4 Visa if child was adopted from a Hague 
	 country and the adoption was finalized in the 

United States or an IR-4 Visa if the child was 
adopted from a non-Hague country and the 
adoption was finalized in the United States

• 	 Need all of above information
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REGISTRATION OF FOREIGN BIRTH 
RECORD [R.C. 3107.18(C)] 

• 	 Person who has adopted child pursuant to 
decree or certificate of adoption recognized in 
this state that was issued outside the U.S. can 
request the court of county in which person 
resides to order the department of health to 
issue a foreign birth record for the adoptive 
person under R.C. 3705.12(A)(4)

o 	 Court may specify change of name for child 
	 and if physician recommended a revision of 

birth date, a revised birth date 
o 	 Court shall send to department of health: 

order and copy of foreign adoption decree 
or certificate of adoption and, if not in 
English, a certified translation

• 	 Visa IH-3 or IR-3
• 	 Each adoptive parent personally observed child 	

prior to adoption finalization and child is less 
than 16 years old

• 	 Child becomes citizen upon going through 
customs in U.S. airport

• 	 IH-3 Visa if child was adopted from a Hague 
country and the adoption was finalized in that 
country or an IR-3 Visa if the child was adopted 
from a non-Hague country and the adoption 
was finalized in that country 

• 	 Foreign Adoption Decree Translation
• 	 Foreign Birth Certificate Translation
• 	 Documentation regarding immigration status

*See www.USCIS.gov (U.S. Citizenship 
& Immigration Services).

PUTATIVE FATHER REGISTRY [R.C. 3107.064]

• 	 Court shall not issue final decree or finalize 
	 interlocutory order unless, pursuant to 
	 R.C. 3107.063, a certified document from the Ohio 

Department of Job & Family Services is filed, 
which must be dated 31 or more days after date 
of minor’s birth.

• 	 This document not required if any of following 
	 apply:

1.	 Mother was married at time minor was 
conceived or born

2.	 Parent placing minor for adoption 
previously adopted the minor

3.	 Prior to date petition is filed, a man has 
been determined to have a parent and child 
relationship with minor by court pursuant 
to R.C. 3111.01 to 3111.18, by court proceeding 
in another state, administrative agency 
proceeding pursuant to R.C. 3111.38 to 3111.54, or 
administrative agency proceeding in another 
state

4.	 Minor’s father acknowledged paternity of 
minor or 

5.	 Public children services agency has 
permanent custody of minor pursuant to 
R.C. 2151 or R.C. 5103.15(B) after both parents lost or 
surrendered parental rights, privileges and 
responsibilities over minor.
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GUARDIANSHIP

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 15.0: Next of Kin of Proposed Ward
2.	 SPF 15.01: Judgment Entry Setting Hearing on 

Application for Appointment of Guardian
3.	 SPF 15.1: Waiver of Notice and Consent
4.	 SPF 15.2: Fiduciary’s Acceptance – Guardian
5.	 SPF 15.3: Guardian’s Bond
6.	 SPF 15.4: Letter of Guardianship
7.	 SPF 15.5: Guardian’s Inventory
8.	 SPF 15.9: Oath of Guardian
9.	 SPF 17.1: Statement of Expert Evaluation
10.	SPF 17.7: Guardian’s Report
11.	SPF 17.8: Court Investigator’s Report on 

Proposed Guardianship

JURISDICTION & VENUE [R.C. 2111.02(A)]

Proposed ward has, or had before losing cognitive 
ability to choose, residence in this county.

NOTICE/SERVICE [R.C. 2111.04]

Notice provided to the ward, next of kin, and other 
interested persons.

PROPOSED WARD’S RIGHTS [R.C. 2111.02(C)(7)]

1.	 The right to be represented by independent 
counsel of the proposed ward’s choice.

2.	 The right to have a friend or family member 
of proposed ward’s choice present.

3.	 The right to have evidence of an 
independent expert evaluation introduced. 

4.	 If the proposed ward is indigent, upon the 
proposed ward’s request:
a.	 The right to have counsel and an 

independent expert evaluator appointed 
at court expense; and

b.	 If the appointment of a guardian is 
appealed, the right to have counsel 
appointed and necessary transcripts 
prepared at court expense.

GUARDIAN’S RESPONSIBILITIES/DUTIES

1. 	 General Responsibilities

a. 	 Obey all orders of the probate court and 
comply with all local, state, and federal law 
governing guardianships. [Sup.R. 66.08(A)]

b. 	 Meet with the proposed ward at least. 
	 [Sup.R. 66.08(B)]

c. 	 Immediately report any allegations of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation of a ward. 

	 [Sup.R. 66.08(C)]

d. 	 Notify the court and seek to limit or 
terminate the guardianship authority if 
necessary. [Sup.R. 66.08(D)]

e. 	 Notify of change of residence. [Sup.R. 66.08(E)]

f. 	 Seek approval from this court before filing a 
suit for the ward. [Sup.R. 66.08(F)]

g. 	 File annually a guardianship. [Sup.R. 66.08(G)]

h. 	 If a guardian has 10 or more wards, register 
with the court and provide required 
information. [Sup.R. 66l08(H)]

i. 	 Inform the court of the ward’s income. 
	 [Sup.R. 66.08(I)]

j. 	 Avoid conflicts of interest. [Sup.R. 66.08(K)]

k. 	 File ward’s legal papers. [Sup.R. 66.08(L)]

2. 	 Responsibilities to ward

a. 	 Professionalism, character, and integrity. 
[Sup.R. 66.09(A)]

b. 	 Exercise due diligence when making 
decisions. [Sup.R. 66.09(B)]

c. 	 Make choices that are the least restrictive. 
[Sup.R. 66.09(C)]

d. 	 Advocate for services focused on ward’s 
wishes. [Sup.R. 66.09(D)]

e. 	 Foster and preserve positive relationships in 
ward life. [Sup.R. 66.09(E)]

f. 	 Communicate privately with the ward 
by meeting at least once quarterly or as 
determined by the court. [Sup.R. 66.09(F)]
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g. 	 Do not provide direct services to the ward. 
[Sup.R. 66.09(G)]

h. 	Monitor and coordinate all services and 
benefits provide to the ward. [Sup.R. 66.09(H)]

i. 	 Seek advice and strive to honor ward’s 
wishes regarding extraordinary medical 
issues. [Sup.R. 66.09(I)]

j. 	 Be informed about the ward’s end-of-life 
preferences. [Sup.R. 66.09(I)]

k. 	 Manage caseload. [Sup.R. 66.09(K)]

l. 	 Keep the ward’s personal and financial 
information confidential. [Sup.R. 66.09(L)]

HEARING REQUIREMENTS [R.C. 2111.02(C)]

1.	 Requirements:
a.	 Prior to the appointment of a guardian 

or limited guardian under division 
R.C. 2111.02(A) or (B)(1) of this section, the court 
shall conduct a hearing on the matter of 
the appointment.

b.	 Any proposed guardian shall appear at 
the hearing.

c.	 All appointed guardians of the estate 
shall swear under oath that the guardian:
i.	 Will fulfill the duties of a guardian; 

and [R.C. 211.13] 
ii.	 In addition, guardians of the 

estate shall swear under oath that 
the guardian has made and will 
continue to make diligent efforts to 
find and report all assets belonging 
to the estate of the ward in a true 
inventory in accordance with R.C. 2111.14 
and will faithfully and completely 
file timely and accurate reports and 
accountings.

d.	 If the hearing is conducted by a 
magistrate, the procedures set forth in 
Civ.R. 53 shall be followed.

e.	 The burden of proving incompetency 
shall be on the applicant for 
appointment as guardian and shall be by 
clear and convincing evidence.

f.	 Upon request of any interested party, a 
recording or record of the hearing shall 
be made.

2.	 Is the proposed ward incompetent? 
[R.C. 2111.01(D) and 2111.02(C)(3)]

a.	 Expert evaluation [R.C. 2111.031; Sup.R. 66(A)]

b.	 Investigator’s report [R.C. 2111.041]

c.	 Other interested parties
d.	 Other evidence

3.	 Are there less restrictive alternatives? 
[R.C. 2111.02(C)(5) and (6)]

a.	 The court may deny a guardianship 
based upon a finding that a less 
restrictive alternative to guardianship 
such as the following exists:

	 i.	 Limited Guardianship
ii.	 Durable General Power of Attorney;
iii.	 Health-Care Power of Attorney;
iv.	 Living Will; or
v.	 Conservatorship. [R.C. 2111.021]

4.	 Is the applicant a suitable person/agency to 
serve as guardian? [R.C. 2111.02(C)(1)]

a.	 Residency [R.C. 2109.21(C)]

b.	 Prior criminal record [R.C. 2111.03]

c.	 Criminal background check 
	 [Sup.R. 66.05(A)(1)]

d.	 Civil background check
e.	 Education/continuing education 

documentation [Sup.R. 66.05(A)(2)]

f. 	 Caseload of guardianships of the 
guardian. [Sup.R. 66.05(B)]
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PRIOR TO THE MONITORING HEARING

1.	 Notice of the hearing shall be sent at least 7 
days prior to the: [R.C. 2111.04]

a.	 ward;
b.	 next of kin; and 
c.	 other interested persons.

2.	 Is the most recent guardian’s report timely 
and has it been reviewed? [R.C. 2111.49(A) and (B)]; 
[Sup.R. 78]

3.	 Is the most recent Statement of Expert 
Evaluation within 3 months prior to the date 
of the report and has it been reviewed? 
[R.C. 2111.49(A)(1)(i)]

	 4. 	 Has the guardian completed and evidenced 	
	 Guardian Continuing Education? [Sup.R. 66.07]

5.	 Is a Guardian ad litem required? [R.C. 2111.23]; 
[Sup.R. 48]

6.	 Is an updated investigation required? 
[R.C. 2111.49(A)(2)]

7.	 Should the ward be present? Is the ward able 
to be present? [R.C. 2111.49(B) and (C)]

8.	 Are there any unique logistical concerns 
for the case (security considerations, court 
interpreter, mobility accommodations, 
participant separation)?

9.	 What triggered the need for a hearing 
(nature of complaint received by the court, 
changing guardian’s status, change in the 
ward’s capacity, or family conflicts)? [R.C. 2111.49]

MONITORING HEARING

1.	 Address any issues raised by the Statement of 
Expert Evaluation (change in diagnosis) 
[R.C. 2111.49(A)(1)(e)]

2.	 Address any issues raised by the guardian’s 
report. [R.C. 2111.49] 

a.	 Is the guardian still living in the county? 
In re Guardianship of Santrucek, 120 Ohio 
St.3d 67, 2008-Ohio-4915, 896 N.E.2d 683; 
In re Guardianship of Replogle, 164 Ohio 
App.3d 54, 2005-Ohio-5530, 841 N.E.2d 
330 (2d Dist.); State ex rel. Florence v. Zitter, 

106 Ohio St.3d 87, 2005-Ohio-3804, 831 
N.E.2d 1003.

b.	 Has there been any legal proceedings 
involving either the ward or the 
guardian? If living at home, has there 
been any legal proceedings involving 
anyone living in the home? [R.C. 2111.17, 2111.18, 
2111.181, and 2111.19]; [Sup.R. 65(D), 68, and 69]

3.	 If not living with the ward, address the 
frequency, nature and duration of guardian 
contact with the ward. [R.C. 2111.49(A)(d)]

4.	 Inquire if there any significant celebratory 
or special events that have occurred since 
the last report.

5.	 Inquire if there are any changes in the status 
of guardian: [R.C. 2111.49]

a.	 Change of living arrangement:
i.	 Guardian must provide current 

address in guardian’s report; and 
[R.C. 2111.49(A)(1)(b)]; [Sup.R. 66.08(E)(1)]

ii.	 Residency requirement of guardian. 
[R.C. 2109.21(C)]

b.	 Health
c.	 Functioning
d.	 Parenting issues
e.	 Employment

i.	 Conflict of interest for person 
providing services to a ward to serve 
as guardian of ward. [R.C. 5123.93]; 

	 [Sup.R. 66.04(D)]

f.	 Criminal record
g.	 If a public guardian, inquire into the 

current caseload size.
i.	 Guardian’s report shall include 

number of times guardian has visited 
with Ward during the period. 
[R.C. 2111.49(A)(1)(d)]

6.	 Is there a change in the ward’s financial 
status (inheritance, lump-sum Social 
Security payment, lottery winnings, or 
other)? 
a.	 Duties of guardian of estate [R.C. 2111.14]
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c.	 Inform the guardian that they may be 
required to have contact with the court 
investigator.
i.	 Duties of guardian of person [R.C. 2111.13]

ii.	 Court intervention in guardianship 
[R.C. 2111.49(A)(2)]

iii.	 Investigating circumstances of alleged 
incompetent. [R.C. 2111.041]

d.	 Remind participants that at any time a 
monitoring hearing can be set by the 
court or at the request of the guardian or 
other interested person. [R.C. 2111.49(C)]

ADDITIONAL REVIEW ITEMS 
FOR GUARDIAN OF THE ESTATE

1.	 Should the representative payee status be 
changed to guardian of the estate, from 
guardian of the estate, or bifurcated? 
a.	 Appointment of guardian [R.C. 2111.02]

b.	 Duties of guardian of person and estate 
[R.C. 2111.15]

c.	 Probate court powers of guardianship 
	 [R.C. 2111.50]

2.	 Is the posted bond adequate and 
maintained? 
a.	 Bond [R.C. 2109.04]

b.	 Bond conditions – guardians [R.C. 2109.12]

c.	 New or additional bond [R.C. 2109.06] 

3.	 Has a separate bank account been 
established accessible only by the guardian?
a.	 Deposit of funds [R.C. 2109.41]

4.	 Address issues, if any, arising from 
the annual account (unauthorized 
expenditures, lack of receipts)
a.	 Verification of inventory [R.C. 2111.141]

b.	 Investment powers [R.C. 2109.37]

c.	 Deposit of funds [R.C. 2109.41]

7.	 Are any of the following necessary? 
a.	 Funeral arrangements:

i.	 Simpson v. Holmes, 106 Ohio St. 437, 
140 N.E. 395 (1922): legal effect of 
the guardianship ends upon the 
death of a ward.

ii.	 State ex rel. Beedle v. Kiracofe, 176 
Ohio St. 149, 194 N.E.2d 61 (1964): 
a guardian has the power after 
the ward’s death to make a proper 
accounting and settlement of any acts 
taken in regard to the ward’s assets. 

iii.	 Consent for autopsy. [R.C. 2111.13(D) and (F)]

iv.	 Disposition of ward’s remains. 
[R.C. 2111.13(E) and (F)]

b.	 Guardianship plan
c.	 Financial management plan
d.	 An inventory of all important legal 

documents:
i.	 Duties of guardian of estate; and 

[R.C. 2111.14]

ii.	 Evidence to support inventory, and 
verification of inventory. [R.C. 2111.141]

e.	 Establishment of a will
f.	 Other (land sale)

i.	 Completion of real property 
contracts. [R.C. 2111.19]; [Sup.R. 65]

8.	 Closing
a.	 Should a follow-up review be set? 

i.	 Hearings for guardianship. 
[R.C. 2111.49(C)] 

b.	 Review the duties of the guardian. 
(report due dates)
i.	 Probate court powers of guardianship 

[R.C. 2111.50]

ii.	 Guardian’s report and court 
intervention [R.C. 2111.49]

iii.	 Duties of guardian of person [R.C. 2111.13]

iv.	 Duties of guardian of estate [R.C. 2111.14]
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OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

1.  Master Commissioners – appointment, bond, 
and duties [R.C. 2101.06]

2.	 Jurisdiction of probate court [R.C. 2101.24]

3.	 Removal of fiduciary [R.C. 2109.24]

4.	 Appointment of guardian [R.C. 2111.02] 

5.	 Court intervention in guardianship 
[R.C. 2111.49(B)]

6.	 Probate court powers of guardianship 
[R.C. 2111.50]

7.	 Jurisdiction and other states [R.C. 2112.]





EMERGENCY GUARDIANSHIP  [R.C. 2111.02(B)(3)]

There are no Standard Probate Forms 
for emergency guardianship proceedings 

other than noted above.

NOTE

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 17.1: Statement of Expert Evaluation
2.	 SPF 17.1A: Supplement for Emergency 

Guardian of Person
3.	 SPF 15.4: Letters of Guardianship

VENUE

Filed in the county in which the ward resides or has 
legal settlement

GROUNDS

1.	 Minor or incompetent has not been placed 
under guardianship pursuant to R.C. 2111.02(A)

2.	 An emergency exists; and 
3.	 It is reasonably certain that immediate 

action is required to prevent significant 
injury to person or estate of minor or 
incompetent.

APPLICATION

1.	 Notice of emergency presented to court 

	

HEARING/NOTICE OF HEARING 

1.	 Court may issue an emergency order 
ex parte

ORDER

1.	 Court may issue an order, ex parte, at 
any time after it receives notice of the 
emergency

2.	 Court may issue any order considered 
necessary to prevent injury to person or 
estate of minor or incompetent; or

3.	 Court may appoint an emergency guardian 
for maximum of 72 hours

4.	 Order shall be served upon incompetent or 
minor as soon as possible after issuance
a.	 Failure to serve order after issuance or 

prior to taking of any action under its 
authority does not invalidate the order 
or actions taken

5.	 Letters of appointment shall specify powers 
of an emergency guardian
a.	 Powers limited to those necessary to 

prevent injury to person or estate of 
minor or incompetent

6.	 Court shall enter upon the journal:
a.	 A record of case; and 
b.	 Specific reasons for acting ex parte or 

without notice

EXTENSION

1.	 Extension may be granted by court:

a.	 For good cause shown; and
b.	 After notice to minor, or incompetent, 

and interested parties; and
c.	 After a hearing.

2.	 Extension may be granted for specific 
period, but not exceeding additional 30 days
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Courts should adopt a local rule 
for the Emergency Guardianship process 

[Sup.R. 66.03(A)]

NOTE
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•	 Civil Commitment in Criminal Cases

•	 Civil Commitment of the Mentally Ill

•	 Voluntary Admission





If jurisdiction to commit a person is terminated 
under R.C. 2945 due to the expiration of the 
maximum prison term or term of imprisonment 
for a defendant found incompetent to stand trial 
or not guilty by reason of insanity, the criminal 
court or the prosecutor may file an affidavit for civil 
commitment of a defendant under R.C. 5122 or R.C. 5123. 

 

The court retains jurisdiction over the person 
for 10 days after the filing of an affidavit for the 
probate court to conduct a civil-commitment 
hearing.  

JURISIDCTION FOR CIVIL COMMITMENT OF A MENTALLY ILL PERSON 
OR A PERSON WITH AN INTELLECTUAL DISABILITY WHO WAS 
FOUND INCOMPETENT TO STAND TRIAL OR NOT GUILTY BY REASON 
OF INSANITY [R.C. 2945.39; R.C. 2945.401] 

Forms must be created locally by probate court.NOTE

See Civil Commitment Bench Card. After the 
affidavit, the process for civil commitment  

of the defendant is the same.
NOTE

If the probate court commits the person, the chief 
clinical officer of the facility or the person to which 
the defendant is committed or admitted shall send 
to the prosecutor the notices required under 
R.C. 2945.38(H)(4)(a)(i) - (iii).

•	 R.C. 5122 covers the involuntary civil 
commitment of a mentally ill person subject 
to hospitalization as defined under 

	 R.C. 5122.01(B). 
•	 R.C. 5123 covers the civil commitment of a 

person with an intellectual disability, 18 
years of age or older, who is subject to 
institutionalization by court order as defined 
under R.C. 5123.01(O).
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CIVIL COMMITMENT OF THE MENTALLY ILL (From Community or Hospital Setting)

FILINGS

Available Standard Forms 
1.	 Affidavit of Mental Illness [R.C. 5122.111]

2.	 Notification Form for Record Checks (available 
from BCI)

3.	 Application for Emergency Admission 
	 [R.C. 5122.10] - available from Ohio Department of 

Mental Health, form DMH-0025)
Forms Filed by the Local Prosecutor
1.	 Motion For Continuance [R.C. 5122.141(B)]

2.	 Motion for Change of Place of Detention
	 [R.C. 5122.15(L) or (N)]

3.	 Application for Continued Commitment 
	 [R.C. 5122.15(H)] 
4.	 Motion for Court Ordered Medication and/or 

Treatment [R.C. 2101.24(A)(1)(u)]

Forms Filed by the Local Board of Mental Health 
and Addiction Recovery Services (or Designee)
1.	 Prescreening Investigation Report [R.C. 5122.13]

2.	 Notice to Court or Agency [R.C. 5122.15(F)(1)] - 
available from Ohio Department of Mental 
Health, form DMH-0041

Forms Must Be Created Locally by Probate Court
1.	 Certificate of Examination [R.C. 5122.11 & R.C. 5122.19] 
2.	 Temporary Order of Detention [R.C. 5122.11]

3.	 Order Appointing Independent Evaluator 
	 [R.C. 5122.14] – may be optional, consult your 

appellate law
4.	 Order Referring Affidavit for Screening 
	 [R.C. 5122.13)]

5.	 Order Granting Motion for Continuance 
	 [R.C. 5122.141(B)]

6.	 Entry Setting Full Hearing and Ordering Notice 
[R.C. 5122.12 & 5122.141(A)]

7.	 Notice to Respondent of Hearing and Service of 
Rights of an Involuntarily Detained Person 

	 [R.C. 5122.05(C) and R.C. 5122.29]

8.	 Rights of an Involuntarily Detained Person 
	 [R.C. 5122.05(C) & R.C. 5122.29]

9.	 Entry Appointing Counsel for Respondent 
	 [R.C. 5122.05(C)(2)]

10.	Precipe for Subpoena Duces Tecum
11.	Subpoena for Witness
12.	Order to Produce Hospital Records (Subpoena 

Duces Tecum)
13.	Decision and Judgment Entry of Commitment 

After Initial Full Hearing [R.C. 5122.15(C)]

14.	Entry Ordering Continued Commitment 
	 [R.C. 5122.15(H)]

15.	Entry Changing Least Restrictive Setting 
	 [R.C. 5122.15(F) & (N)]

16.	Entry Granting Motion for Court Ordered 
Medication and/or Treatment [R.C. 2101.24(A)(1)(u)]

DEFINITIONS (as outlined in R.C. 5122.01 & R.C. 5119)

A.	 “Mental illness” means a substantial disorder 
of thought, mood, perception, orientation, 
or memory that grossly impairs judgment, 
behavior, or capacity to recognize reality, or 
ability to meet the ordinary demands of life. 

	 [R.C. 5122.01(A)]

•	 An anti-social personality disorder may 
qualify as a “mental illness” under Ohio law 
if the disorder is “substantial” and there is 
“gross” impairment. State v. Welch, 125 Ohio 
App. 3d 49, 707 N.E. 2d 1133, 1997 Ohio 
App. LEXIS 5335 (Ohio Ct. App., Portage 
County 1997)

B.	 “Mentally ill person subject to court order” 
means a mentally ill person who, because of the 
person’s illness:
1.	 Represents a substantial risk of physical 

harm to self as manifested by evidence of 
threats of, or attempts at, suicide or serious 
self-inflicted bodily harm;

2.	 Represents a substantial risk of physical 
harm to others as manifested by evidence of 
recent homicidal or other violent behavior, 
evidence of recent threats that place another 
in reasonable fear of violent behavior and 
serious physical harm, or other evidence of 
present dangerousness;
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3.	 Represents a substantial and immediate risk 
of serious physical impairment or injury 
to self as manifested by evidence that the 
person is unable to provide for and is not 
providing for the person’s basic physical 
needs because of the person’s mental illness 
and that appropriate provision for those 
needs cannot be made immediately available 
in the community; 

4.	 Would benefit from treatment for the 
person’s mental illness and is in need of 
such treatment as manifested by evidence of 
behavior that creates a grave and imminent 
risk to substantial rights of others or the 
person; 

5.
(a)Would benefit from treatment as 

manifested by evidence of behavior that 
indicates all of the following:
(i) The person is unlikely to survive 

safely in the community without 
supervision, based on a clinical 
determination.

(ii) The person has a history of lack 
of compliance with treatment 
for mental illness and one of the 
following applies:
I.	 At least twice within the 36 

months prior to the filing of an 
affidavit seeking court-ordered 
treatment of the person under 
R.C. 5122.111, the lack of compliance 
has been a significant factor in 
necessitating hospitalization in a 
hospital or receipt of services in 
a forensic or other mental-health 
unit of a correctional facility, 
provided that the 36-month 
period shall be extended by the 
length of any hospitalization or 
incarceration of the person that 
occurred within the 36 months.

II.	 Within the 48 months prior to 
the filing of an affidavit seeking 
court-ordered treatment of the 
person under R.C. 5122.111, the lack 
of compliance resulted in one 
or more acts of serious violent 
behavior toward self or others, or 
threats of, or attempts at, serious 
physical harm to self or others, 
provided that the 48-month 
period shall be extended by the 
length of any hospitalization or 
incarceration of the person that 
occurred within the 48-month 
period.

(iii)The person, as a result of the 
person’s mental illness, is unlikely to 
voluntarily participate in necessary 
treatment.

(iv)In view of the person’s treatment 
history and current behavior, the 
person is in need of treatment 
in order to prevent a relapse or 
deterioration that would likely result 
in substantial risk of serious harm to 
the person or others.

(b)An individual who meets only the criteria 
described in division(B)(5)(a)of this 
section is not subject to hospitalization. 
[R.C. 5122.01(B)(1 - 5)]
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When the affiant is seeking inpatient 
treatment, boxes 1 - 4 usually are checked; 

when the affiant is seeking outpatient 
treatment, box 5 is checked.

NOTE
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EMERGENCY HOSPITALIZATION

1.	 CUSTODY & TRANSPORT FOR MEDICAL EXAMINATION – Any 
psychiatrist, licensed clinical psychologist, 
licensed physician, health officer, parole officer, 
police officer, or sheriff may take a person 
into custody if he or she has reason to believe 
that the person is a mentally ill person subject 
to court order under R.C. 5122.01(B) and that the 
person represents a substantial risk of physical 
harm to self or others if allowed to remain at 
liberty pending examination.
a.	 The person should be taken into custody in 

the least conspicuous manner.
b.	 The person taking the respondent 

into custody shall explain their name, 
professional designation, that the custody 
is not a criminal arrest, and that the person 
is being taken for examination by mental-
health professionals. [R.C. 5122.10]

2.	 APPLICATION FOR EMERGENCY ADMISSION – A written 
statement must be given to the hospital by the 
transporting party stating the circumstances 
under which the person was taken into custody 
and the reasons for the transporting parties’ 
belief that the person is a mentally ill person 
subject to court order under R.C. 5122.01(B) and 
that the person represents a substantial risk 
of physical harm to self or others if allowed to 
remain at liberty pending examination. 

	 [R.C. 5122.10]

3.	 INITIAL EXAMINATION (CERTIFICATE OF EXAMINATION) – Persons 
transported to a hospital shall be examined 
within 24 hours after arrival at the hospital. 

	 [R.C. 5122.10 & R.C. 5122.19]

4.	 INVOLUNTARY HOLD – The chief clinical officer may 
detain a patient for not more than 3 court days 
(after the initial 24 hours). During the 3 court 
days, the chief clinical officer may admit the 
person as a voluntary patient, discharge the 
patient, or file an AFFIDAVIT with the probate 
court. [R.C. 5122.10] See also, In re John Doe, 2002 
Ohio 5210 and 150 Ohio App.3d 532.

5.	 AFFIDAVIT – Filed in any county according to form 
and content specified in R.C. 5122.111.
a.	 In the case of emergency hospitalization, 

the affidavit usually is completed by a 
psychiatrist.

b.	 An affidavit may be filed by a member of the 
public presenting to the probate court when 
the person alleged to be mentally ill resides 
in the community.

6.	 DETENTION ORDER AND NOTICE

a.	 Probate court issues a temporary order of 
detention; if hospital outside county, court 
retains jurisdiction. [R.C. 5122.11]

b.	 Person may be observed and treated until 
the hearing, provided for in R.C. 5122.141 or 

	 R.C. 5122.15.
c.	 Any person who is involuntarily detained 

in a hospital or otherwise in custody under 
R.C. 5122, immediately upon being taken into 
custody, shall be informed and provided 
with a written statement that the person may 
do any of the following:
i.	 Immediately make a reasonable 

number of telephone calls or use 
other reasonable means to contact 
an attorney, a licensed physician, or a 

R.C. 5122.141 should be used for the initial 
hearing before a person is detained.

NOTE

NOTE
In some counties, the involuntary hold is 

referred to as a “pink slip.”

If a hospital uses the Application for Emergency 
Admission available from the Ohio Dept. of 

Mental Health (form DMH-0025), the date the 
application is “approved” by the chief clinical 

officer may be the date of the beginning of the 
involuntary hold. 


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licensed clinical psychologist, to contact 
any other person or persons to secure 
representation by counsel, or to obtain 
medical or psychological assistance, and 
be provided assistance in making calls if 
the assistance is needed and requested;

ii.	 Retain counsel and have independent 
expert evaluation of the person’s mental 
condition and, if the person is unable 
to obtain an attorney or independent 
expert evaluation, be represented 
by court-appointed counsel or have 
independent expert evaluation of the 
person’s mental condition, or both, at 
public expense if the person is indigent; 

iii.	 “Independent expert evaluation” means 
an evaluation conducted by a licensed 
clinical psychologist, psychiatrist, or 
licensed clinical physician who has 
been selected by the respondent or the 
respondent’s counsel. [R.C. 5122.01(P)]

iv.	 Have a hearing to determine whether or 
not the person is a mentally ill person 
subject to court order. [R.C. 5122.05(C)(1 - 3)]

7.	 PRESCREENING INVESTIGATION REPORT – Within 2 business 
days, the affidavit is referred to the board of 
alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health 
services or community mental health services 
provider the board designates for investigation. 
[R.C. 5122.13]

8.	 APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT EVALUATOR – Immediately 
after acceptance of an affidavit, the court may 
appoint a psychiatrist, or a licensed clinical 
psychologist and a licensed physician to 
examine the respondent. At the first hearing, 
the psychiatrist, psychologist, and/or physician 
shall report to the court his or her findings as 
to the mental condition of the respondent, and 
need for custody, care, or treatment in a mental 
hospital. [R.C. 5122.14]

9.	 SCHEDULING THE HEARING - The hearing must be held 
within 5 court days from the day on which 
the person is detained or an affidavit is filed, 
whichever occurs first. The hearing may be 

conducted in a hospital in or out of the county. 
[R.C. 5122.141(B)]

10.	NOTICE OF HEARING – Upon receipt of an affidavit 
under R.C. 5122.11, the court shall issue written 
notice by mail, or, as the court directs, to the 
following:
a.	 The respondent;
b.	 The legal guardian for the respondent, 

or the spouse of the respondent, or the 
respondent’s parents if a minor, if these 
persons’ addresses are known or can be 
obtained through exercise of reasonable 
diligence;

c. The person who filed the affidavit;
d.	 Any one person designated by the 

respondent and if the respondent does not 
make a selection, to an adult next of kin;

e.	 To respondent’s counsel along with a copy 
of the affidavit and the temporary order of 
detention;

f.	 The director, chief clinical officer, or 
designee of the hospital, board, community 
mental health service provider, or facility to 
which the person has been committed;

g.	 The board of alcohol, drug addiction, and 
mental services serving the respondent’s 
county of residence or a services provider 
designated by the board.   

Adult and competent persons, other than the 
respondent, may waive notice. [R.C. 5122.12]

11.	CONTINUANCE – A continuance of the hearing may 
be granted for no more than 10 calendar days 
from the day on which the person is detained or 
the affidavit is filed, whichever occurs first. [R.C. 
5122.141(B)]

12.	RIGHTS OF THE RESPONDENT AT THE HEARING – 
a.	 To attend the hearing and to be represented 

by counsel of the respondent’s choice or by 
court-appointed counsel if the respondent is 
indigent.

b.	 To subpoena witnesses and documents and 
to examine and cross-examine witnesses.
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c.	 To have all relevant documents, 
information, hospital records, and other 
evidence.

d.	 To testify, but the respondent may not be 
compelled to testify. [R.C. 5122.15(A)]

13.	FULL HEARING – By clear and convincing evidence, 
court finds respondent mentally ill and subject 
to court order, court may order respondent, for 
not more than 90 days, to: See 1 - 6 in R.C. 5122.15(C).
a.	 Burden of Proof. See, Addington v. Texas, 

441 U.S. 418 and State v. Castrataro, 2007 
Ohio 2764 App. LEXIS 2552 (Ohio Ct. App., 
Cuyahoga County June 7, 2007). 

b. “Totality of the Circumstances” – Test 
is to be used to determine whether an 
alleged mentally ill person is subject to 
hospitalization under R.C. 5122.01(B). See, In re 
Burton, 11 Ohio St. 3d 147, 464 N.E. 2d 530, 
1984 LEXIS 1123 (Ohio 1984). 

c.	 Three-part Test for Involuntary 
Commitment – See, In re TB., 2006 Ohio 
4789, 2006 Ohio App. LEXIS 4639 (Ohio Ct. 
App., Franklin county, Sept. 12, 2006).
i	 There must be a substantial disorder of 

thought, mood, perception, orientation, 
or memory. [R.C. 5122.01(A)] 

ii	 The substantial disorder of thought, 
mood, perception, orientation, or 
memory must grossly impair judgment, 
behavior, or capacity to recognize reality, 
or the ability to meet the ordinary 
demands of life. [R.C. 5122.01(A)]

iii	 The mentally ill person must be 
hospitalized for one of the reasons set 
forth in R.C. 5122.01(B).

d.	 Closed Hearing – The hearing shall be 
closed to the public. Counsel for the 
respondent, with the permission of the 
respondent, may request the hearing be 
open to the public. For good cause shown, 
the court may admit persons who have a 
legitimate interest in the proceedings, but 
the respondent may object. [R.C. 5122.15(A)(5) & (6)]; 
[Sup. R. 55]

COMMITMENT OF A PERSON RESIDING 
IN THE COMMUNITY

1.	 A person, who resides in the community and is 
not hospitalized at the time of the hearing, may 
be found mentally ill and subject to court order 
prior to being taken into custody. Proceedings 
have to be initiated under R.C. 5122.11 (i.e., an 
affidavit must have been filed with the probate 
court).

2.	 Pursuant to R.C. 5122.141(A) and (B), an initial hearing, 
rather than a full hearing which is held when a 
person is hospitalized, may be conducted and 
the respondent shall have the right to counsel, 
notice, and be afforded all other procedural 
due-process safeguards that apply when a full 
hearing is held, pursuant to R.C. 5122.15. An initial 
hearing shall be held within 5 court days from 
the day on which the respondent is detained 
or an affidavit is filed, whichever occurs first or 
within 10 calendar days from the day on which 
the respondent is detained or the affidavit is 
filed, whichever occurs first. 

3.	 If a person who resides in the community has 
been found by the court to be mentally ill and 
subject to court order, the court may issue an 
interim order of detention ordering any health 
or police officer, or sheriff to take the person 
into custody. See R.C. 5122.10. 
a.	 When the interim order of detention is 

issued, the court must have an agreement 
from the receiving hospital to admit the 
respondent or the order may be ineffective.

b.	 The court’s finding of mentally ill and 
subject to court order must be based on 
clear and convincing evidence. When a 
person is at large in the community, the 
prosecutor may be challenged to find a 
medical professional to testify as to the 
person’s current medical condition and 
mental state. 

c.	 An individual who meets only the criteria 
described in R.C. 5122.01(B)(5)(a) is not subject to 
hospitalization.
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CONTINUED COMMITMENT HEARINGS

1.	 A full evidentiary hearing must be held at 
the end of the first 90-day period of civil 
commitment, and at least every 2 years 
thereafter; this hearing may not be waived.

	 [R.C. 5122.15(H)]

2.	 A full evidentiary hearing must be held 
every 180 days if requested by respondent or 
respondent’s counsel. [R.C. 5122.15(H)] 

FORCED MEDICATION ORDERS

The state’s parens patriae power can override 
a mentally ill patient’s decision to refuse 
antipsychotic medication. A person need not 
be adjudicated incompetent before the state’s 
parens patriae power may be legitimately 
exercised in a forced-medication hearing. 
A court may issue an order permitting the 
administration of antipsychotic medication, 
by hospital employees, against a patient’s 
wishes and without a finding that the patient is 
dangerous, when the court finds by clear and 
convincing evidence that: 

1. 	 The patient lacks the capacity to give or 
withhold informed consent regarding 
treatment;

2. 	 The medication is in the patient’s best interest; 
AND 

3. 	 No less intrusive treatment will be as effective 
in treating the mental illness. Steele v. Hamilton 
County Community Mental Health Board, 90 Ohio 
St. 3d 176, 180, 185, 2000-Ohio 47.

Procedural due-process concerns:
1.   An attorney must be appointed to represent the 

patient;
2.   An independent psychiatrist or licensed 

clinical psychologist and a licensed physician 
must be appointed to examine the patient, to 
evaluate the recommended treatment, and to 
report such findings and conclusions to the 
court regarding the patient’s capacity to give 
or withhold informed consent, as well as the 
appropriateness of the proposed treatment;

3.  The patient, appointed counsel, and treating 
physicians must receive notice of all hearings;

4.  Patient must be provided the opportunity to be 
present at all hearings and to present and cross-
examine witnesses. Id. at 189, 190.

TRANSFERS

1.	 The director of mental health and addiction 
services or his or her designee may file a motion 
with the court to seek an order to transfer an 
involuntary patient if the transfer is consistent 
with the medical needs of the patient. [R.C. 5122.15(N) 
& R.C. 5122.20]

2.	 If the transfer is to a more restrictive setting, the 
involuntary patient may request a hearing on 
the transfer. The hearing shall be held with all 
the rights of a full hearing under R.C. 5122.15.

3.	 The hearing shall be held within 10 days of the 
transfer and may be continued for up to an 
additional 10 days. [R.C. 5122.20]

4.	 Written notice of the transfer of an involuntary 
patient shall be given to the patient’s legal 
guardian, parents, spouse, counsel, and, if 
none, to the patient’s nearest-known relative or 
friend. [R.C. 5122.20]

The initial hearing may be waived, but a 
mandatory full hearing shall be held by 

the 30th day after the original involuntary 
detention of the respondent.  

[R.C. 5122.141(D & E)]


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DISMISSAL & EXPUNGEMENT

1.	 Patients may consent to voluntary treatment 
and court may dismiss case. [R.C. 5122.15(G)(1)]

2.	 If treatment needs could be met in less 
restrictive setting, court may dismiss case. 

	 [R.C. 5122.15 (F)(2)] 

3.	 Board and treatment provider may 
recommend the court discontinue court-
ordered treatment if respondent fails to 
comply with treatment plan. [R.C. 5122.15(N)]

4.	 If a person taken into custody under R.C. 5122.10 
or R.C. 5122.11 is released from custody prior to 
a hearing, the probate court shall expunge 
any records of the person. [R.C. 5122.09]

CONFIDENTIALITY

All records, other than court journal entries or 
court docket entries, shall be kept confidential 
and shall not be released except as otherwise 
allowed under R.C. 5122.31.

The reporting to BCI of a civil commitment pursuant 
to R.C. 5122.311 can be accomplished via the Ohio 
Courts Network (OCN) portal, using the Mental 

Illness Adjudication Reporting (MIAR) module. In 
addition to being an efficient paperless-notification 
method, the MIAR module permits courts to modify 

and view previously submitted commitment 
records. For information on using the MIAR module 

in OCN, contact the OCN Help Desk 
at OCNHelp@sc.ohio.gov or 614.387.9980.


REPORTING CIVIL COMMITMENTS TO BCI





VOLUNTARY ADMISSION OF MENTALLY ILL PERSONS

Forms must be created locally by probate court.NOTE

VOLUNTARY ADMISSION [R.C. 5122.02]

1.	 A person 18 years of age or older may apply for 
voluntary admission to the chief medical officer 
of a hospital if the person:
a.  Appears to be mentally ill, or
b.  Believes self to be mentally ill.

2.	 A parent may make application for voluntary 
admission on behalf of a minor. 
	

3.	 A guardian of a person may make application 
on behalf of an adult incompetent ward.

4.	 The chief clinical officer shall discharge 
any voluntary patient who has recovered or 
whose continued hospitalization is no longer 
advisable.

5.	 The chief clinical officer may deny admission 
if he or she finds that hospitalization of the 
person is inappropriate. 

6.	 The chief clinical officer may discharge 
any voluntary patient who refuses to accept 
treatment consistent with the written treatment 
plan required by R.C. 5122.27 or may file an Affidavit 
of Mental Illness under R.C. 5122.11.

7.	 A person found incompetent to stand trial or 
not guilty by reason of insanity, and who was 
committed under R.C. 2945.39, R.C. 2945.40, R.C. 2945.401 
or R.C. 2945.402 shall not be voluntarily admitted to 
a hospital until after the final termination of 
commitment, as provided under R.C. 2945.401(J).

RELEASE OF VOLUNTARY PATIENTS 
[R.C. 5122.03]

A person who was admitted voluntarily shall be 
released upon written request unless within 3 court 
days of receipt of the request, the chief clinical 
officer of the hospital files with the probate court 
of the county where the patient is hospitalized or 
the probate county where the patient resides, an 
Affidavit of Mental Illness under R.C. 5122.11.

If the patient is not released within 3 days of the 
receipt of the request for release, the request shall 
serve as a request for an initial hearing under 
R.C. 5122.141. 

The chief clinical officer of the hospital shall 
provide reasonable means and arrangements for 
informing patients of their right to release under 
R.C. 5122.03(B).

PATIENT RIGHTS [R.C. 5122.29]

A person who has been admitted for voluntary 
treatment has all patient rights set forth under 
R.C. 5122.29.

CIVIL RIGHTS OF PATIENTS [R.C. 5122.301]

Any person admitted voluntarily to a hospital 
retains all civil rights not specifically denied in the 
Revised Code or removed by an adjudication of 
incompetence as provided for under the Revised 
Code.
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	 Some hospitals do not permit a parent to admit a 
minor for mental-health treatment under R.C. 5122. 
Oftentimes, the parent admits the child for general 
medical treatment, instead of psychiatric treatment.


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ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 23.0 Petition for Protective Services
2.	 SPF 23.1 Notice of Petition for Court 

Ordered Protective Services
3.	 SPF 23.2 Petition for Emergency Protective 

Services
4.	 SPF 23.3 Notice of Petition for Court 

Ordered Protective Services on an 
Emergency Basis

5.	 SPF 23.4 Petition for Temporary Restraining 
Order to Prevent Interference with 
Investigation of Reported Abuse of an Adult

6.	 SPF 23.6 Petition for Temporary Restraining 
Order to Prevent Interference with the 
Provision of Protective Services to an Adult

7.	 SPF 23.7 Notice of Hearing on Petition for 
Temporary Restraining Order to Prevent 
Interference With the Provision of Services

DEFINITIONS [R.C. 5101.60]

Adult – Person age 60 or older within this 
state handicapped by infirmities of aging 
or has physical or mental impairment that  
prevents person from providing for their 
own care or protection and who resides 
in an independent living arrangement, 
including residential facility licensed under 
R.C. 5119.22

Court – Probate court in county where adult 
resides

Emergency – Adult is living in conditions that 
present substantial risk of immediate and 
irreparable physical harm or death to self or 
another person

Incapacitated person- Person who is impaired 
to the extent that person lacks sufficient 
understanding or capacity to make and 
carry out reasonable decisions concerning 
person’s self or resources, with or without 
the assistance of a caretaker. Refusal to 
consent to provision of services shall not 
be the sole determinative that person is 
incapacitated. 

In need of protective services – An adult known 
or suspected to be suffering from abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation to an extent that 
either life is endangered or physical harm, 
mental anguish, or mental illness results or 
is likely to result

Abuse – Infliction upon adult by self or others 
of injury, unreasonable confinement, 
intimidating or cruel punishment with 
resulting physical harm, pain, or mental 
anguish

Neglect – Failure of an adult to provide for 
self the goods or services necessary to avoid 
physical harm, mental anguish, or mental 
illness, failure of caretaker to provide such 
goods or services, or abandonment

Exploitation – Unlawful or improper act of a 
person using, in one or more transactions, 
an adult or adult’s resources for monetary 
or personal benefit, profit or gain when the 
person obtained or exerted control over 
adult or the adult’s resources in any of the 
following ways:
•	 Without adult’s consent or consent of 

the person authorized to give consent 
•	 Beyond scope of express or implied 

consent of adult or person authorized to 
give consent

•	 By deception
•	 By threat
•	 By intimidation
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These provisions apply to involuntary 
protective service proceedings. For voluntary 

proceedings, refer to R.C. 5101.66.
NOTE



TEMPORARY RESTRAINING ORDER [R.C. 5101.651]; 
[R.C. 5101.69]

Investigation/Access to Residence [R.C. 5101.651] 
•	 County Dept. of Job & Family Services (Co. 

DJFS) may petition the court for temporary 
restraining order to prevent interference or 
obstruction by any person, including the adult, 
who denies or obstructs access to residence of 
adult during course of investigation under 

	 R.C. 5101.65

•  	 Temporary Restraining Order – Court shall 
issue temporary restraining order if it finds 
reasonable cause to believe:
○  	Adult is being or has been abused, 

neglected, or exploited, AND
○  	Access to adult’s residence has been 

denied or obstructed
○  	Such finding is prima-facie evidence that 

immediate and irreparable injury, loss, 
or damage will result, so notice is not 
required

Provision of Services [R.C. 5101.69] 
•	 Co. DJFS may petition court for temporary 

restraining order to restrain any person from 
interfering with provision of protective services 
for the adult, when the adult has consented to 
the provision
○ 	 Petition – Petition shall state specific facts 

sufficient to demonstrate need for protective 
services, the consent of adult, and refusal of 
some person to allow provision of services

○  	Notice – Notice of petition shall be given to 
person alleged to be interfering 

○  	Hearing – Court shall hold hearing on 
petition within 14 days after its filing

○  	Temporary Restraining Order – Court shall 
issue temporary restraining order if it finds:
▫	 Protective services are necessary
▫ 	 Adult has consented to provision of 

services
▫ 	 The person who is subject of petition has 

prevented such provision

COURT ORDERED PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
[R.C. 5101.68]; [R.C. 5101.681 - .682]

Petition [R.C. 5101.68] 
•	 Co. DJFS may petition court for an order 

authorizing provision of protective services if 
it determines the adult is in need of protective 
services and is an incapacitated person (adult 
did not voluntarily accept services)

Notice of Petition [R.C. 5101.681] 
•  	 Notice to be personally served on adult at least 

5 working days prior to hearing date
•  	 Notice to adult shall be given orally or in writing
•  	 Notice shall include all petitioners’ names, 

basis of belief that protective services are 
needed, rights of adult in court proceedings, 
consequences of court order, adult’s right to 
counsel, adult’s right to appointed counsel if 
indigent and requests appointed counsel

•  	 Written notice by certified mail shall be given 
to adult’s guardian, legal counsel, caretaker, 
and spouse, if any, or, if none of these, to adult 
children or next of kin if any, or to any other 
person court may require

•  	 Adult may not waive notice
Hearing & Order [R.C. 5101.682]

•	 Hearing held within 14 days after filing of 
petition

•	 Rights of adult:
○	 Be present at hearing
○	 Present evidence
○	 Examine and cross-examine witnesses
○	 Be represented by counsel unless knowingly 

waived
○	 Court appointed counsel if indigent
○	 Court appointed counsel if court determines 

adult lacks capacity to waive right to counsel
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Order
•	 Court shall issue order requiring provision of 

protective services IF:
○	 Court finds by clear and convincing 

evidence that:
▫	 Adult has been abused, neglected, or 

exploited;
▫	 Is in need of protective services;
▫	 Is incapacitated; AND
▫	 No person authorized by law or court 

order is available to give consent.
▫	 If above findings are made, 

protective services are ordered to be 
provided only if services are available 
locally

Placement
•	 If placement is ordered, consideration shall be 

given to choice of residence of the adult
•	 May be in settings approved by the DJFS that 

meet minimum community standards for safety, 
security, and requirements of daily living

•	 Institutional placement shall not be ordered 
unless specific finding was entered in the 
record that no less restrictive alternative can be 
found to meet the adult’s needs

•	 Cannot order commitment to a hospital or 
public hospital as defined in R.C. 5122.01 

•	 Change of placement ordered only upon 
court’s finding of compelling reasons to justify 
transfer

•	 Court shall notify adult of transfer at least 30 
days prior, unless emergency exists

•	 Order provided for in this section shall remain 
in effect for no longer than 6 months

•	 If Co. DJFS determines continued need for 
services after review of adult’s needs, it shall 
apply for renewal of order for additional 
periods of no longer than one year each

•	 Adult may petition for modification of order at 
any time

COURT ORDERED PROTECTIVE SERVICES – 
EMERGENCY BASIS [R.C. 5101.70]

Petition (Emergency Basis) [R.C. 5101.70] 
•	 Filed by Co. DJFS or its designee and shall 

include:
○	 Adult’s name, age, address
○	 Nature of emergency
○	 Proposed protective services
○	 Petitioner’s reasonable belief and supportive 

facts that:
▫	 Adult is incapacitated
▫	 An emergency exists
▫	 No person is available or willing to 

consent for the adult
○	 Facts showing attempts to obtain adult’s 

consent 
Notice of filing and petition contents
•	 To adult, shall include both: 

○	 Right to be present at hearing, present 
evidence, examine and cross-examine 
witnesses

○	 Possible consequences of order
•	 To spouse, if any, or to adult child or next of 

kin, and guardian, if any, if whereabouts known
○	 Given 24 hours prior to hearing, unless 

waived by court if:
▫	 Immediate and irreparable physical or 

financial harm to adult or other will 
result from 24-hour delay; and

▫	 Reasonable attempts were made to notify 
adult, spouse, if any, adult children or 
next of kin, if any, and guardian, if any, if 
whereabouts are known

▫	 If 24-hour notice is waived, notice of this 
determination shall be given to persons 
receiving notice 
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Hearing 
•	 Shall be held no sooner than 24 and no later 

than 72 hours after notice is given, unless court 
waived notice

Order (Emergency Basis) 
•	 Court shall issue order if it finds by clear and 

convincing evidence that: 
○	 Adult is incapacitated;
○	 Emergency exists; and
○	 No person authorized by law or court order 

is available to consent.
Limitations to Order
•	 Specifically designate only necessary and locally 

available services to remove the emergency
•	 No change of residence unless finding 

necessary
•	 Services for 14 days, unless Co. DJFS or its 

designee petitions court for renewal of 14-day 
order upon showing is necessary to remove 
emergency
○	 If services are necessary beyond emergency 

period, petition can be filed under 
	 R.C. 5101.68; Co. DJFS or its designee, after 

filing petition, permitted under R.C. 5101.70(F) 
to continue to provide services pending 
hearing by court
▫	 Authorize Co. DJFS director, designee, 

or rep. of designee to give consent for 
adult until order expires 

▫	 Cannot order commitment to a hospital 
or public hospital, as defined in R.C. 5122.01 

COURT ORDERED PROTECTIVE SERVICES 
– EX PARTE EMERGENCY BASIS [R.C. 5101.701]

Ex Parte Emergency Order [R.C. 5101.701] 

•	 Court (judge or magistrate under direction 
of judge) may issue by telephone an ex parte 
emergency order if ALL of the following are 
applicable:
○	 Co. DJFS/authorized employee of Co. 

DJFS/Co. DJFS designee/authorized 
employee of designee notifies court that 

they believe emergency order is needed as 
described herein;

○	 Reasonable cause to be believe adult is 
incapacitated; and

○	 Reasonable cause to believe there is 
substantial risk to adult of immediate and 
irreparable physical or financial harm, or 
death.

•	 Order shall be journalized
•	 Order effective for not longer than 24 hours 

(except if day following day on which order is 
issued is not a working day, then order shall 
remain in effect until next working day)

•	 Not later than 24 hours after order is issued, 
petition under R.C. 5101.70(A) shall be filed with 
court (unless day following day on which order 
was issued is not a working day, then petition 
shall be filed on next working day)

•	 Proceedings shall be conducted in accordance 
with R.C. 5101.70, except as provided in R.C. 5101.702

Hearing [R.C. 5101.702] 
•	 Shall be held not later than 24 hours after 

issuance of order to determine if there is 
probable cause for the order (except if day 
following day on which order is issued is not a 
working day, then order shall remain in effect 
until next working day)

•	 Court shall determine whether protective 
services are least restrictive alternative available

•	 Court may issue temporary orders, including, 
but not limited to, temporary protection orders, 
evaluations, and orders requiring a party 
to vacate adult’s place of residence or legal 
settlement
○	 Temporary order(s) are effective for 30 days
○	 Court may renew order for additional 30-day 

period
○	 Information in order may be entered into 

law-enforcement automated-data system
○	 Court may order emergency services
○	 Court may freeze financial assets of adult
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PAYMENT OF SERVICES [R.C. 5101.71]

Payment of Services [R.C. 5101.71] 
•	 Adult shall not be required to pay for court-

ordered services unless court determines upon 
a showing by Co. DJFS that adult is financially 
able to pay and court orders the same

If adult is indigent, court shall appoint legal 
counsel whenever Co. DJFS has petitioned court 

to authorize provision of protective services.
NOTE





CONCEALMENT OF ASSETS [R.C. 2109.50-2109.56]

JURISDICTION [R.C. 2109.50]

Probate court has jurisdiction when:
•	 Court has jurisdiction of administration 

of an estate, testamentary trust, or 
guardianship; or

•	 Person subject of complaint resides in that 
county

Court has no jurisdiction over real estate 

COMPLAINTS MADE BY [R.C. 2109.50]

•	 A person interested in the estate, 
testamentary trust, or guardianship

•	 The creditor of a person interested in the 
estate, testamentary trust, or guardianship

COMPLAINTS MADE AGAINST [R.C. 2109.50]

•	 Any person suspected of having concealed, 
embezzled, or conveyed away or of being 
or having been in the possession of any 
moneys, personal property, or choses in 
action of the estate, testamentary trust, or 
guardianship.

PROCEEDING [R.C. 2109.50]

1)	 Complaint filed in probate/court’s own motion
2)	 Issue citation/other judicial order to compel 

person suspected to appear to be examined, on 
oath
•	 May be issued into any county in Ohio
•	 Service and return by officer to whom it is 

delivered (Officer liable for negligence)
•	 Before issuing extra-county citation, judge 

may require complainant to post security 
in an acceptable amount and form to cover 
costs of proceeding (e.g., travel expenses of 
person subject to extra-county citation)

3)	 Examination of person suspected, court may 
swear witnesses (examination and answers in 
writing, signed by party examined, filed in 
court)

4)	 Costs generally assessed against complainant
5)	 Burden of proof by preponderance of the 

evidence

IMPRISONMENT FOR DISOBEYING 
CITATION [R.C. 2109.51]

•	 Court may commit person to county jail who 
fails to answer interrogatories; remain until 
complies

JUDGMENT ON COMPLAINT [R.C. 2109.52]

•	 Jury may be demanded by either party
•	 Guilty verdict: court may assess damages, 

order return of asset, order restoration in 
kind

•	 Court may issue citation into any county 
in Ohio requiring any person who claims 
interest in assets to appear before the court 
(hearing to determine title)

•	 Except when person found guilty is 
fiduciary, judgment for fiduciary. If no 
fiduciary in Ohio, judgment for the state

•	 Judgment in amount of:
•	 Moneys/value of personal property/

choses in action concealed, embezzled, 
conveyed away, or held in possession; 
PLUS

• 	 10-percent penalty and all costs 
• 	 Judgment reduced to extent of value of 

anything restored or returned in kind

FIDUCIARY FOUND GUILTY [R.C. 2109.52, 2109.53]

•	 Judgment for the state against the fiduciary 
for amount of moneys or value of personal 
property or choses in action concealed, 
embezzled, conveyed away, or held in 
possession, together with penalty and costs
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•	 Fiduciary removed with successor appointed
○	 Removed fiduciary; no compensation
○	 Charged amount of judgment
○	 Fiduciary’s property liable for satisfaction 

of judgment on execution issued on 
judgment

CERTIFICATE OF JUDGMENT; DELIVERY TO 
CLERK OF THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS 
[R.C. 2109.54]

1)	 Fiduciary delivers certificate of judgment to 
clerk of court of common pleas

2)	 Probate court completes and delivers certificate 
to fiduciary on demand

3)	 Clerk issues execution of court of common 
pleas for amount of judgment and costs accrued 
or that may accrue on judgment

4)	 Further proceedings on execution same as if 
judgment rendered in court of common pleas

JUDGMENT IN FAVOR OF STATE [R.C. 2109.55]

•	 When no fiduciary in Ohio, prosecuting 
attorney files certificate in clerk’s office and 
executes on judgment 

•	 Prosecuting attorney pays money realized 
upon execution to county treasurer for use 
of estate, testamentary trust, or guardianship 
(probate court allows reasonable attorney 
compensation) 

CONVEYANCES [R.C. 2109.56]

•	 All gifts, grants, or conveyances of real 
property, rents, or personal property 
and all bonds, judgments, or executions 
made or obtained with intent to avoid the 
purpose of concealment proceedings, or 
in contemplation of any examination or 
concealment complaint, are void 
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MINOR SETTLEMENTS

FILINGS

1.	 SPF 22.0: Application to Settle a Minor’s 
Claim and Entry Setting Hearing 

2.	 SPF 22.1: Waiver and Consent to Settle 
Minor’s Claim 

3.	 SPF 22.2: Entry Approving Settlement of a 
Minor’s Claim 

4.	 SPF 22.3: Verification of Receipt and Deposit 
5.	 SPF 22.4: Report of Distribution and Entry 

of a Minor’s Claim 

APPLICATION

1.	 Brought by guardian of the estate or parent 
or the custodial parent if the court dispenses 
with the need for a guardian. 
[Sup.R. 68(A)]

2.	 Captioned in the name of the minor. 
[Sup.R. 68(A)]

3.	 Shall be accompanied by: [Sup.R. 68(B)]

a.	 A current statement of an examining 
physician stating the injuries sustained, 
the extent of recovery, and the 
permanency of any injuries.

b.	 The existence and amount of additional 
consideration being paid to persons 
other than the minor as a result of the 
incident causing injury.

c.	 The arrangement, if any, that has been 
made with respect to counsel fees 
(subject to court approval).

NOTICE

Noncustodial parents are entitled to 7 days notice. 
The notice may be waived. [Sup.R. 68(A)]

PRESENCE AT THE HEARING

Both the injured minor and the applicant are to be 
present at the hearing. [Sup.R. 68(C)]

The court has the ability to waive the appearance of 
the minor for good cause. [Sup.R. 76]

APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN

1.	 Either parent or the custodian of the minor 
can apply. The court does not favor co-
guardians.

2.	 The guardianship and settlement 
applications can be heard at the same time.
a.	 Exception: If the minor is over the age 

of 14, then personal service on the 
minor for the appointment of his or her 
guardian is required. A minimum of 7 
days notice is required and cannot be 
waived. [R.C. 2111.04(A)(1)(a)]

3.	 Guardians may be required to give a bond. 
[R.C. 2111.38]

ESTATE $25,000 OR LESS 

1.	 If the net proposed settlement of the claim 
is $25,000 or less after payment of fees 
and expenses as allowed by the court, the 
court, upon application by any suitable 
person whom the court may authorize to 
receive and receipt for the settlement, may 
authorize without the appointment of a 
guardian. [R.C. 2111.18]

2.	 The court may authorize the delivery of 
monies in the following manner:
a.	 In a depository authorized to receive 

fiduciary funds, payable to the guardian 
when appointed, or to the ward when 
the ward attains majority; or

b.	 To the natural guardian of the minor, 
to the person by whom the minor is 
maintained, to the executive director of 
children services in the county, or to the 
minor’s own self. [R.C. 2111.05]
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ESTATE NOT MORE THAN $10,000 [Sup.R. 67]

1.	 Each application shall indicate the amount 
of money or property to which the minor 
is entitled and to whom such money or 
property shall be paid or delivered.

2.	 The attorney representing the interests of 
the minor shall prepare an entry that orders 
the following:
a.	 The deposit of funds in a financial 

institution in the name of the minor;
b.	 Impounding the principal and interest;
c.	 Releasing the funds only upon an order 

of the court or to the minor at the age of 
majority.

3.	 The entry order shall be presented at the 
time the entry dispensing with appointment 
of a guardian or approving settlement is 
approved.

4.	 The attorney shall be responsible for 
depositing the funds and for providing the 
financial institution with a copy of the entry.

5.	 The attorney shall obtain a Verification 
of Receipt and Deposit (SPF 22.3) from 
the financial institution and file the form 
with the court within seven days from the 
issuance of the entry.

RELEASE

The court may authorize the person receiving the 
moneys to execute a complete release on account 
of the receipt. The payment shall be a complete 
and final discharge of that claim. [R.C. 2111.18]

WAIVER BY MINOR’S PARENTS

The parent(s) of the minor may waive all claims for 
damages on account of loss of service of the minor, 
and that claim may be included in the settlement.  
[R.C. 2111.18]
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NAME CHANGE R.C. 2717.01 

FILINGS

MINOR NAME CHANGE:

SPF 21.2: Application for Change of Name of 
Minor

SPF 21.2 (On reverse side of SPF 21.2): Judgment 
Entry 

SPF 21.4: Consent to Change of Name

SPF 21.5: Notice of Hearing on Change of Name

SPF 21.3: Judgment Entry – Change of Name of 
Minor

ADULT NAME CHANGE:

SPF 21.0: Application for Change of Name of Adult

SPF 21.0 (On reverse side of SPF 21.0): Judgment 
Entry Setting Hearing/Ordering Notice

SPF 21.5: Notice of Hearing on Change of Name

SPF 21.1: Judgment Entry – Change of Name of 
Adult

VENUE

Application is filed in the county in which the 
person resides.

TIME FRAME

Applicant shall be a bona fide resident of that 
county for at least one year prior to the filing of the 
application.

APPLICATION

1.	 Made by person desiring change of name.
2.	 Made on behalf of a minor by either of 

minor’s parents, legal guardian, or guardian 
ad litem.

3.	 Shall set forth cause for which change of 
name is sought.

4.	 Shall set forth requested new name.
5.	 Requires the applicant to state whether 

he/she has a duty to comply with R.C. 2950.04 
or 2950.041 because he/she was convicted 
of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a 
delinquent child for having committed a 

sexually oriented offense or a child-victim 
oriented offense.

6.	 Requires the applicant to state whether he/
she has pleaded guilty to, been convicted or, 
or been adjudicated a delinquent child for 
committing violation of R.C. 2913.49 (identity 
fraud) unless the guilty plea, conviction, or 
adjudication has been reversed on appeal.

NOTICE OF HEARING 

1.	 Once by publication in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the county at least 
thirty days before the hearing.
a.	 If applicant submits to the court 

satisfactory proof that publication of 
notice would jeopardize personal safety, 
then:
i.	 Court shall waive notice requirement.
ii.	 If Court orders change of name, 

Court shall order record of 
proceeding sealed and opened only 
by order of the court for good cause 
shown or at request of applicant for 
any reason.

2.	 Additional requirements for a minor: 
a.	 Notice given to parent or parents not 

consenting by certified mail, return 
receipt requested, or:
i.	 If no known father of minor, notice 

given to person who mother of minor 
alleged to be father.

ii.	 If no father is alleged or either 
parent or address of either parent 
is unknown, notice by publication 
is sufficient as to father or parent 
if applicant exercised reasonable 
diligency to locate parent. Notice by 
publication must include the name 
and last known address of the non-
consenting parent.

iii.	 Any additional notice required may 
be waived in writing by any person 
entitled to the notice.
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ENTRY

1.	 Court may order change of name: 
a.	 Upon proof that proper notice was given 

or that notice was waived.
b.	 Upon proof that the facts in application 

show reasonable and proper cause.
i.	 For a minor’s name change, all 

factors relevant to the best interest of 
the child should also be considered.

2.	 Court shall NOT order change of name if: 
a.	 Person applying or for whom application 

is made has a duty to comply with 
R.C. 2950.04 or 2950.041 because was convicted 
of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated 
a delinquent child for having committed 
a sexually oriented offense or a child-
victim oriented offense.

b.	 Person applying or for whom application 
is made has pleaded guilty to, been 
convicted or, or been adjudicated 
a delinquent child for committing 
violation of R.C. 2913.49 unless the guilty 
plea, conviction, or adjudication has 
been reversed on appeal.

3.	 A certified copy of entry ordering change 
of name shall be sent to the Vital Statistics 
Office of the state of birth. [R.C. 3705.13]

Court has discretion to deny the application and reasons 
for denial should be stated on the record. 

Discretionary factors include:
a.	 Potential for fraud
b.	 Interferes with rights of other
c.	 Allows the applicant to avoid a legal duty
d.	 Change is contrary to strong public policy of Ohio



It is the discretion of the court whether 
it will require applicant to perform this 
function or if court will do so, because 

the statute does not specify.)

NOTE

Question applicant/attorney if he/she has exhausted 
all means of locating a non-consenting parent, 
including contacting CSEA for a current address.


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